We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unassuming but hidden gem”
Review of Couscous Cafe

Couscous Cafe
Ranked #8,567 of 22,674 Restaurants in London
Price range: $80 - $80
Cuisines: African, Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Notting Hill
Level Contributor
323 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Unassuming but hidden gem”
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Great place for an authentic Moroccan meal. Good but limited menu which the wife and I have been through several times over the years. I recommend trying the Moroccan wines. Nice atmosphere as it is small, cosy and homely.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bfltd0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    22
    12
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
208 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

This is a tiny place on the way to where we are staying that we just happened on....and we glad we tried it!!! Food was great and we loved every minute of it. We had a lovely delicate chicken and saffron and almond pastry to start and then 2 tagines both of which were just excellent. We were too full for dessert ....maybe next time as we will be back. Also must mention the Moroccan mint tea which was great we actually had 2 pots of it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank HRHCaoimhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good, but not memorable”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

This is a nice neighborhood restaurant. The food is good, but not memorable. The lamb tagine was OK, but the prunes which are supposed to balance the seasoning with sweetness were too few. The couscous was a bit rustic -- not as fine as at better venues, and was noticeably salty. There is a fried sardine appetizer which was awesome though -- fresh and delicious.

I did not experience the slow service that others have commented on. I came on a Saturday evening, early enough that the place was not full, and the service was fine.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We ordered several starters followed by the cous cous royal. The cous cous was served in many small dishes which is great as we could choose the mix we want. It was outstanding. The best lamb I have eaten in a long time. I am a great fan of cous cous and can highly recommend cous cous cafe. FYI you need to pay by cash ...

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great surprise find”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We enjoyed a agood meal which satisfied teenagers and adults. Service was friendly and food a delight.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank tonifam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Couscous Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Couscous Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing