We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beauty over brains”
Review of Plateau

Plateau
Ranked #341 of 23,024 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $52
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Description: Plateau Restaurant and Bar & Grill offer stunning views over Canary Wharf. The restaurant serves French cuisine with a contemporary twist from Head Chef Jeremy Trehout, while the Bar & Grill offers more informal cooking in a relaxed setting. There are also 2 lively bars, 2 private dining rooms and 2 stylish terraces.
London
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beauty over brains”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Elegant restaurant with a relaxed but vibrant atmosphere. Not too expensive food but not incredibly great food either - distinctly average.

Would come here for drinks again for the view and overall vibe, great for a pre-date drink or drinks with a group - but definitely not dinner. Food feels very conveyor belt, though staff are very nice.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sanaa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    442
    248
    73
    29
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Enjoyable night out”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Attended with group of 15 friends to the bar and grill. First time here, nice venue, pleasant staff, little bit slow with the drinks orders. Food was really nice. Music was a little too loud and a bit like club music at times, more mellow music in the background would of suited better. I would return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stevenjust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Playeau Bar and Grill”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Visited this establishment as part of a 50th Birthday Party. Venue location and atmosphere could not be faulted. Pre-meal drinks service was slow although there were a few cocktails the beers and soft drinks took just a long. Starters were ok but my main course (short spare beef rib) was extremely tasty. I did not have sweet. Service charge at 12.5% on two bottle of champagne was taken off and waitress appeared unhappy even though the main drinks bill was over £440 and meals bill was just over £400 which makes a service charge of over £100. The black waiter with the dread locks was very polite and attentive and we could not fault his service. Overall great atmosphere and I enjoyed my meal and evening and would return. Just quicken up the drinks service. :-)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank apnrboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great Views”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Great restaurant/bar. Personally I prefer eating in the bar area to the main restaurant - great atmosphere and prefer the seating. Food always fantastic and often you can get some great special offers.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MG31England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Brilliant team”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The staff here are excellent - real team work and attention to detail. Love the Spanish sommelier - she was really good at explaining some of the choices and genuinely wanted me to have wine I'd enjoy without trying to get me to spend more than I wanted. I loved the barman who makes a great Negroni, and was clearly enthusiastic about it too.

The food was really good for a set menu. Clearly not their top drawer, but brilliant value nonetheless.

It was a great night. Thanks very much!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plateau also viewed

 

Been to Plateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing