We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great authentic mexican food and drink”
Review of Mestizo

Mestizo
Reserve with OpenTable
Mestizo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,195 of 22,557 Restaurants in London
Price range: $15 - $32
Cuisines: Mexican, Central American, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Transit: Tube: Euston Square, Warren St
Description: MESTIZO is the concept of a group of Mexican’s to bring to London a restaurant-bar offering a fine and authentic Mexican cuisine. The name MESTIZO suggests “mezcla” or “fusion”, a term that was utilised principally to designate the decedents of indigenous Mexicans with Spaniards. We have chosen this name to symbolise of the origins of what constitutes our gastronomy Our mission at MESTIZO is to bring to London the best that Mexican food has to offer, while at the same time, becoming the restaurant for local neighbours and the many Mexicans and Latin Americans living in London. MESTIZO shall also be a space for the promotion and diffusion of Mexican culture.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great authentic mexican food and drink”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

First visit to Mestizo and loved the wide range of authentic food and drink on offer, was totally spoilt for choice. The chicken dish I finally settled on was a lovely spicy dish with just the right amount of heat, and a couple of tequila based cocktails from their selection complimented it nicely. The staff were very friendly as well, and put some extra effort in for the birthday of the friend I went with, which was awesome.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    187
    73
    44
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“True Mexican food far from Tex Mex”
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

If you want to taste real Mexican food in London, this is the right place. Probably you have visited a lot of Mexican restaurants in your life, and only this one will be a real Mexican experience outside Mexico. We visited the place one week before Mexican national day and we could enjoy many different dishes from all around Mexican regions, very tasteful and completely different to any other Mexican food in London. A good michelada to drink will convince you this really a good value restaurant. Apart from food and drink you will find a friendly atmosphere very usual from Mexican guys. You can expect paying between £20-30 including drinks.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elesath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Happy Lunchtime at a Mexican Buffet”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We visited 'Mestizo' for lunch (we arrived at 2pm) on Sunday 15th Sept. We had been to this Mexican restaurant (it isn't Tex-Mex) in the past and ordered off the a la carte menu which we really enjoyed but yesterday (coincidentally Mexican Independance Day) was our first experience of the Sunday buffet. It was fantastic! So many choices ( we understand the range changes every week) with hot and spicy as well as unspicy dishes but they all had very fresh and interesting flavours. The value (£20 which includes complimentary juices) was excellent. The staff were a delight - very smilely, helpful and efficient. They took time to explain the dishes and despite the restaurant being absolutely full, the service was crisp and very efficient and friendly. Many Mexicans were also eating there. The atmosphere was lively but we could still easily chat

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“absolute delight ...lovely and tasty authentic mexican food,superb service”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We are regular customers of Mestizo. Having dinner in this authentic mexican restaurant is such a pleasure each time. Food is plenty of inspiring flavours, staff always helpful and friendly, cocktails are fantastic, the bar and the retaurant are nice and vibrant.


We highly recommend this little piece of mexico in London and invite all the trip advisors reader to try it...you will not be dissapointed.

Ah, and until the end of the week there is the gastronomic festival, which is a wonderful oportunity to enjoy with dishes from different villages in mexico..wonderful experience.

Don´t miss it!

Regards from Los chicos de la mesa 13

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 00adrilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“One of the best in London for authentic Mexican food”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

As a native Mexican, whenever I crave something that's not Tex-mex and not a burrito, Mestizo is one of the few places I flock to in London (a short walk from Euston, Warren Street or Euston Square stations).

They have the best Mexican beers (my personal favourite is Pacifico, followed by Model Especial). If you are a newbie, order a Michelada (beer served with lemon juice in a salt-rimmed glass). If you've been here before, you should get a Chelada (same as Michelada, but some added spices). If you're an expert, like myself, you go for the Levanta Muertos (a Michelada with clamato sauce and hot sauce... sort of a beer bloody mary). This is almost like a soup, and it is my hangover cure to beat all cures.

The menu has lots of great items. As a starter, empanadas or queso fundido (with chorizo) are classics. If you want to share, the Taco Tray is a good investment, you get to taste all sorts of REAL Mexican tacos (i.e. not hard chell Tex Mex with ground beef). Their sopa de tortilla is a treat and I LOVE their mole poblano. Delicious.

Their Sunday brunch is pricey but well worth it. Menudo, pozole, quesadillas and huevos rancheros. The mouth waters...

Not everything is stellar. Their chile relleno was so-so. And surprisingly their guacamole was a little watery last time I went. But this is easily forgiven, Mestizo is well worth the trip up Hampstead Road.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cuatez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mestizo also viewed

 

Been to Mestizo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing