We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food but expensive” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gun

The Gun
Ranked #618 of 22,204 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $62
Cuisines: British, Gastropub, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Scenic view, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: Underground: Canary Wharf; DLR: Blackwall, Canary Wharf
Description: The Gun is a beautifully restored Grade II listed riverside pub, dating back to the 18th century. Frequented by Lord Horatio Nelson in the late 18th century, the venue has been transformed in recent years into a legendary London gastropub with a 40 cover dining room in the main bar, a back bar with two snugs, two private dining rooms and a fantastic riverside terrace that seats 40. Previously awarded London's Best Dining Pub 2012/13 by The Good Pub Guide, The Gun serves the highest quality British food complemented with experienced service. The bar offers a wide range of beers and cocktails and the wine list is seriously classy too. The nearest stations are Canary Wharf for the Jubilee line and South Quay or Blackwall for the DLR.
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food but expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Excellent location on the Thames. Terrace and Gin Garden.
Good food but quite expensive. No parking.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChrisK32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    394
    234
    77
    51
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
82 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

OK, the location is pretty special, especially if you have a view of the water, and its more than pleasant inside, with friendly staff and a sensible uncluttered layout...and the food is good - but small quantities and way overpriced. £108 for 3 main courses, 2 sweets and 3 small glasses of wine? Maybe in a restaurant but not in a pub.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Irritable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“I love it here - it's a great find and I can't recommend it enough”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

I've been to The Gun a few times now and for different occassions. From dining with my boyfriend in the restaurant in the evening to lunching with the girls overlooking the river on The Terrace having been collected by the courtesy taxi from our office at Canary Wharf, the staff have always been exceptionally nice, helpful and friendly. I've been here on weekdays, evenings and weekends and every time my company and I have really enjoyed our time here. It's a little gold mine in terms of it's location and the atmosphere is great. Try it out you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AmandaW W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Superb food & excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled across The Gun by accident, and what a great stumble that was! Friday night, just finished exhibiting at The Excel and searched on TripAdvisor for a good, local, casual restaurant. The Gun was fully booked but they said come along as they had bar tables. When we arrived the restaurant manager took our details and said if a table came free she would look for us-how many times have you heard that in a restaurant only to be forgotten? Good to her word 15 minutes later she came and dug us from the back bar! Turns out that all the staff have this same mind set - the customer is important.

Starters, we both had the asparagus & the waiter made a point of telling us that it wasn't traditional asparagus spears (I just read another review where someone was disappointed because of this). Ready and primed our starters arrived, a heavenly
blend of oranges, sliced asparagus, fresh blanched peas and salad on a bed of creamed horseradish sauce with just a hint of spiceness to it that complemented but didn't override the taste of the asparagus.

Main course Maureen had the salmon which arrived looking sumptuous (and from someone allergic to fish it must have been good!). The fish covered a third of the plate and was superb. I went for the slow roasted neck of lamb, which was to die for - lamb can be good or bad and this was unbelievably excellent, the taste the texture, the flavour - mind boggling. Dessert was also excellent.

The key to the experience was the service. Waiters dressed as if for a top French restaurant, professional, attentive & 'proper' but still friendly and casual. The restaurant was full but we never had to ask for anything as they were always there, always keeping an eye out for anyone that looked as if they were wanting and swiftly there.

I can't recommend this place enough, just so sad that we live so many miles away and unlikely we'll visit that often unless we're up in London or at the Excel. Don't miss out on this place, it's an experience to be savoured and enjoyed.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MarkXKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barga, Italy
Level Contributor
385 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Glamorous setting, too much "nouvelle cuisine", overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

We went twice within a few days to this historic place, once in the Restaurant proper, and once in the Pub. The atmosphere is nice in both parts, especially in the Pub where you have a great view on the water and the O2. The staff is friendly and the service impeccable. The disappointing aspect is that, while the dishes are presented in a wonderful way (in the "nouvelle cuisine" style), there is really little substance and one risks arriving home still hungry... An asparagus salad at 7.50 £ included one asparagus! A meal for three (3 mains, 2 desserts, water and wine) came to 165 £, and at least one of us was still hungry upon leaving the Restaurant!
On the plus side, on one occasion we came and found the place not open for the public (as there was a private function), and we were given a voucher for 2 glasses of free champagne for our next visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pietro b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gun also viewed

 

Been to The Gun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing