We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food!”
Review of Giant Robot - CLOSED

Giant Robot
Price range: $22 - $52
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Clerkenwell
Transit: Nearest tubes: Farringdon and Old St Nearest bus: Opposite bus routes 55 & 243
Description: Giant Robot is a brand new bar-café-deli-diner in Clerkenwell. We opened on 10 May 2010 and from now on will be serving brunch, lunch, dinner and drinks from 10am till late sevendays a week. If you like your lunch Italian, your brunch American, your dinner relaxed and your beer and cocktails icy cold, you’ll love Giant Robot.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The food was brilliant. Good portion sizes, well made. I had crab linguine which was perfectly put together and very tasty.
The waiting staff were unfailingly friendly, and were easy to attract despite sitting outside.
Cocktails seem to be hit-and-miss. I had a very good raspberry bellini. My friend had something - sadly don't know what - which he said wasn't very good (i.e. due to composition not his personal taste).
I'll definitely be going back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sophie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    24
    16
    2
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Cool place for a drink”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We visited to try the burger after reading about it on a blog all about burgers in London. The décor is cool, we loved the design of the lights over the bar and tables, everything came together very well.

The service was very laid back, thankfully we weren't in a rush but it started to feel like we had been forgotten a couple of times but the staff were very friendly. The mojito was excellent and the burger well worth the visit, although started to feel a little pricey compared to the excellent one we recently had in Soho. We'll be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JamieHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Easy option for after work drinks and quick meal, but seats not great.”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I go here quite often after work with colleagues or meeting friends after work. I find the selection of food and drinks a little odd here - there are not many options for food to make it a great place to go with lots of people. There are also not enough seating areas to really work as a good bar or restaurant (small tables for 2 people max, some sofas).
The meatballs are excellent though and really set the place apart. I go there purely for that!
Good thing about this place is that it is always busy, meaning there is a good buzz (although you don't always get a seat!)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MLRjourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I recently moved into the area and we couldn't praise Giant Robot enough. Great burgers, fries (chips) and crab pasta salad. The servers were personable and the food was absolutely superb!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jmenden628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
“An awesome late drink”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I was walking on the street with a friend, we were looking for the Fabric. We just arrived from Paris couple hours before. We came across this bar, which was the only one still open (other than private parties) around 11pm! We found a really friendly place, the bartenders, costumers and the atmosphere were in symbiosis.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloedellac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giant Robot also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing