We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!”
Review of Kaifeng

Kaifeng
Ranked #14,056 of 22,564 Restaurants in London
Price range: $96 - $96
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Oxford
Level Contributor
78 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Well, it isn't chicken soup and herring for a change. Authentic kosher, authentic Chinese. Some of the best Peking crispy duck ever, and, for once, an overgenerous supply of pancakes. Set in a modest road in a modest suburb, vaut le detour, as Michelin says. Nicely decorated, satisfactory service, and a good place for families. It was buzzing, and there were plenty of well behaved children and, consequently, happy parents. Dessert choice much wider than one usually finds in a Chinese restaurant. A nice place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LadyReadingOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    12
    10
    4
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Authentic high end Chinese”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

After eating at Kaifeng and returning to Chinese food in the US, we realise that we are very deprived.Norman and his team provide us with the real deal sans the roast pork or seafood!

Great take away service too!


We keep coming back!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aitch s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food, Great Service”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We booked Kaifeng for a dinner for 24 people, friends and family, Jewish and Non- Jewish to celebrate our Ruby Wedding Anniversary.
Norman and his team did us proud, the food was excellent the service was friendly and efficient and always with a big smile. Norman is a charming friendly and interesting. Everybody had a great time and commented on the quality of the food and service. I have eaten there a number of times before but for many of my friends it was the first time, most have already said they will go there again.
Our heartfelt thanks to Norman and his team.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rvb269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Steamy Middle East
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Strictly kosher. Pretty good food.”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

The kashrus supervision was, and probably still is KLBD Glatt, but I can't find the latter's official list online any more.

The food is good, but probably no more than that, but the people are friendly and both the food and drink menus are much more varied than in most Chinese restaurants where I've eaten. For example, we had a kind of imitation almost-Peking-duck - interesting, but overcooked - and a Chinese imitation-sake with a poweful taste of yeast, served warm.

Look for online discount coupons before you go, and when you finish your meal ask them if they still have returning-customer discount coupons.

  • Visited July 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Monobasis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Expensive but exquisite!”
Reviewed December 24, 2007

Expensive but exquisite!

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaifeng also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Kaifeng? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing