We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Promising atmosphere - disappointing in other ways” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Vergel

El Vergel
Ranked #8,735 of 22,204 Restaurants in London
Price range: $35 - $35
Cuisines: Mexican, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Promising atmosphere - disappointing in other ways”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Nice buzz and feel to the place. You feel like you're going to be served up some great food here. You see a row of "mamma" characters cooking away purposefully in the kitchen area.

Food-wise, the meal was ok - some beans, two fried eggs, a couple of lumps of chorizo and some salsa. It tasted ok - like how one would expect the above to taste. Cost was £7.50. A fantastic margin for them, I would say. Service was slow and almost unfriendly, I would say. Other waitresses seemed more pleasant though.

If I had paid £4 - 5 for the dish, I probably would have had a different perspective, but pretty average food for a high price (even for London). This is supposed to be quick and cheap street food - and it is best enjoyed that way.

Overall, disappointing - although I would like to try other dishes out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellerkgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    35
    11
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food and character, bad opening times and portions sizes”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

I've been a few times to El Vergel and I found the food very good quality. In particular I love the tacos and freshly squeezed juices.
I like the ambience too, very colourful and bright with floor to ceiling windows facing the street.

I don't go there as often as I would for two specific reasons:
1) the portions are way too small. The tacos with 2 tortillas are definitely inadequate for any average man and even adding the extra tortilla doesn't make much of a difference
2) the opening times. I sometimes have my day off during the week so I have been to the place around 2.30pm for lunch just to be told that they were about to close

I personally think they should choose whether they want to be a normal restaurant (in that case they should extend the opening hours) or a cafe' to cater for the people working in the area (in that case they should either increase the portions or reduce the prices).

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelGep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Very nice food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Very nice fresh food and some of the best tacos i have had, since mexico and san diego. Service easnt amazing but wasnt too bad either. Creviche was exceptionally tasty. I had vege feta tacos and a nice latte. Husband had meat tacos. Will happily return. All very fresh and enjoyable. Very good value for money to boot. Shame they are not open in the evening as well.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Julia7249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great place for food and kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Wonderful family atmosphere. Good food served well by nice people. Chilean emphasis. Brilliant baby squid. Excellent wine by the half bottle for a tenner.
Bizarre little area for kids including a sort of tap fountain which my granddaughter loved. Lots of kids enjoying themselves but out of the way of diners. What a great idea!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Colchestered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Atrocious service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

This place does a nice breakfast or brunch - some of it's quite reasonably priced. I've eaten here on and off for the past couple of years, and usually got poor service.

Recently, however, the standard of service has deteriorated rapidly and I won't be returning. I've had enough of being completely ignored for long periods of time, the inexplicable gaps between food arriving in the same group, and one member of staff wearing inappropriate clothing. It's a shame, because the food is usually very good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Pgr32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Vergel also viewed

Greater London, England
 
London, England
 

Been to El Vergel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing