We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fresh food”

Ottolenghi - Islington
Reserve with OpenTable
Ottolenghi - Islington is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #354 of 22,516 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $74 - $74
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great fresh food”
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

I ate here on 4 July 2014. Lovely sunny day in London. I ate sunny fresh salads and washed it down with an English Rose. I happen to be vegan so lots of restaurants don't cater for people who don't eat meat and dairy. Here they did but without consciously trying. My meat eating friend ate similar food and loved it. Makes people think that you do not need meat and piles of cheese to be satisfied, happy and full. Great service too. Thank you for a very relaxed and memorable afternoon in lovely Islington.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Banrion-Daly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    631
    288
    87
    47
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London,uk
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Tasty food but overrated”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

You can expect lots of great flavors at this well-known restaurant, especially in the vegetable dishes, such as the very delicious fried zucchini blossom. But the the food doesn't live up to the hype - the beets in the beet salad were underdone, to my taste, and the desserts, while beautiful, weren't anything special. Expect to eat at long tables in a loud space and to hail your server often.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steinere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Makes eating veggies interesting”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I really like this place, we came here for lunch and the menu was great. Lots of different and interesting salads and the food was delicious. Unfortunately I couldn't manage a pudding but the cakes looked amazing. Would definitely come back, its a shame that not all veggie places are this interesting. Also sharing our table was Kimberley Walsh so it was interesting to see that she actually eats!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 283Tanga283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Exquisite taste combinations coupled with at attentive service.”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Having heard good things from friends and seeing positive publicity, I decided to try this restaurant. it didn't disappoint and really did deliver a fantastic array of dishes, combining delicately some oriental flavours with an array of tapas style dishes. The stewed octopus and pork belly dishes were flavoursome and well cooked. Wine was delicious and of a good quality, clearly chosen to compliment the food. Service was near impeccable and genuine and got all of our order correct, including the glass of Prosecco on arrival for my girlfriends birthday! Ambience was a little lacking but was insignificant compared to the great food, great service and overall, great experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Your perfect night in London (Islington)”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Start at Ottolenghi and then go to the Almeida Theater (a 1 minute walk away) for interesting and challenging drama. The eggplant in tahini sauce showed the careful attention to seasoning that makes most everything at this restaurant extra special. The lamb and lobster main dishes were both unique taste experiences. The wine list included several interesting Georgian wines, a nice surprise since these are not nearly as well-known or appreciated as they deserve. All in all a lovely, laid back meal that can stand alone or as a prelude to a night out in this interesting neighborhood.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nancyjanin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ottolenghi - Islington also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Ottolenghi - Islington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing