We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb night out”

Ottolenghi - Islington
Reserve with OpenTable
Ottolenghi - Islington is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #346 of 22,367 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $74 - $74
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Amherst, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb night out”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We own all of his cookbooks and so we had high expectations going in to the restaurant. It did not disappoint. The restaurant is casual and moderately priced but the food is exquisite. The small plate menu consists of two parts, cold appetizers and cooked to order main dishes. Go with a group and order the whole menu.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank jonbetsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    619
    284
    85
    45
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Main Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Refreshingly individual”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Second time here. Menu changed since last time, so no cheese souffle. Never mind, everything the six of us ate was excellent. Very pro service. Nice relaxed ambience. Roast Aubergine, Chorizo stuffed squid, Beetroot salad, Tofu, Chili Chocolate grilled quail(very nice). They just brought the dishes out in two courses. Cold ones first, and then a relaxed time later the hot. No hassles, just a lovely relaxing dinner with family. Lovely. No negatives.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MS49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Food is delicious”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

The food is absolutely wonderful! The restaurant is attractive and "cool" looking, but we didn't really care for the communal seating. Didn't feel special enough. But the staff was really nice and friendly. They recommend sharing a bunch of different things. There were four of us so we tried eight. Which was good for the first time, but with food this delicious, we all felt we would have liked to really savor perhaps two things. The desserts were really good too! All in all a really positive experience -- I'll go back next time I'm in London.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ats134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
135 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Fab”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Just loved it. Seated quite quickly. Service excellent. Food exceptional. What's not to love. Wanted to buy some take away cake when we left but couldn't get near the counter to get served. Shame. Just means we'll be back soon.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“go for the food!”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Good food, really. the restaurant itself is nice but not spectacular, but that is not what it is about. We enjoyed a lovely evening with very good food and wine, and good service.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Noel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ottolenghi - Islington also viewed

 

Been to Ottolenghi - Islington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing