We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to go before Opera”

Amphitheatre Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Amphitheatre Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4,059 of 22,557 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Covent Garden
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
359 reviews
254 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“The place to go before Opera”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Even though the food is very goodthe place is very nice and so useful when attending the Opera. One orders tea or desserts of the intermediates of the Opera and your table is always wiating for you, with your stuff and whatever you ordered. So nice. The service was very good and fast. They know one has to go to the Opera so no delays. We had the Coq au Vin, Steaks and Cod, all of them very good as well as the first courses. We also ordered Rhubarb Crumble and Pavlova as desserts. Not impressed at all by the crumbles. Would definitely recommend this place if attending the Opera.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank patriciaDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    56
    26
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
163 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good Cuisine and SO Convenient for ROH Performances”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

The restaurant is a natural for a pre-opera dinner; finish dining and go downstairs. The food is very good and service attentive without being intrusive. Plus, you can order your interval beverage in advance, and enjoy it at the same dining table.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ConradHastler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great people watching platform”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

The Amphitheatre always provides good food,faultlessly served and within an environment that is geared to the start time of the performance. It also gives somewhere to sit and have a drink or coffee during the interval,much better than fighting for attention in one of the bars. An added delight is the view down into the Paul Hamlyn Room where you can spot the great and the good dressed in their finery.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Casablancan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Excellent cooking but the service has to improve for a Very Good rating!”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

My wife and I visited for a Friday evening performance.
We had pre-ordered our food but added extra vegetables and wine on the night.
The desk at the entrance to the restaurant is often unstaffed but wait by it, rather than blocking up the doorway of the restaurant and you will be quickly attended to.
Checking through the food order and adding items was quickly done but then the service stopped while we awaited our starter. We watched as other tables had bread, water and wine topped up but were offered no bread prior to the starters arriving and then had to request bread from a passing waiter.
Our starters of mixed vintage tomatoes and motzerella was beautifully presented, very tasty and dressed with excellent oil.
Similar service problems with the main course when our food arrived but no sign of the vegetables. We waited for another passing waiter to ask for them.
Again the food: trout and chicken dishes were well presented and cooked perfectly.
The joy of using this restaurant is the ability to leave coats and get quickly into the Opera House for the performance. It is best situated for the Upper Circle or Amphitheatre. You would be best to book left side tickets if in the stalls as this is closer to the escalator access from the lower floors. Ten minutes is easily enough time to get to any seat, even if you are uncertain of the House layout.
Return for deserts and coffee saw the table well organised. Cold deserts were already laid out; coffee arrived hot as we finished them.
Billing was swift to allow for your return in good time for the second act.
Our restaurant manager was attentive and asked about our meal so nothing in this review will come as a shock to them. His professional approach will see us return for the food in the hope of service improvements to match its quality.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Great for the Opera interludes, not so good for food or service”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

An unremarkable meal geared to fast turnaround. Our meal came a cropper when G picked the safe choice of Fish Pie....but not here. The pie was small, lots of potato, a little fish and half a dozen cocktail onions!

When G complained to the waiter the response led us to wish we hadn't bothered. We had a procession of people come to talk about it, others who came to ask if we enjoyed our food, oblivious of our complaint.

We said that we did not want a replacement dish - not enough time to enjoy. But nothing else was offered other than disturbance. Rest of the meal was OK, nothing special.

However the convenience for using during interludes was good.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank M&G_OnTheRoadAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amphitheatre Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Amphitheatre Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing