We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant pre-performance place to eat”

Amphitheatre Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Amphitheatre Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4,064 of 22,564 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Covent Garden
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
268 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A pleasant pre-performance place to eat”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

As the restaurant is part of the Royal Opera House at least you can be certain of getting your food pre-performance epecially if you have pre-booked your menu. Service is excellent and the food was pleasant and well presented if a little sparse on the vegetable front. It is possible to split your meal across the intervals although if your seat is not conveniently located you do have to rush around a bit. It is not a cheap option especially if you add drinks and wine, but it does round off the evening well. The ambience is buzzy and the building is wonderful.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne001_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    56
    26
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good for vegetarians too”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We ate lunch here before a concert and backstage tour and were impressed with the classy location and appointments and the excellent service. At £22.50 for 2 courses, the price seemed reasonable for the quality. The set menu offers a choice of 3 starters, 3 mains and 3 desserts. The vegetarian dishes were notably more imaginative than is so often the case. Jerusalem artichoke soup was pronounced delicious as was the leek and Barkham Blue tart. I enjoyed a generous helping of 3 pieces of very tasty pheasant. Sadly, we had no time for dessert. I wouldn't hesitate to eat here again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnFelicity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Overpriced, poor quality”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I visited the Ampitheatre Restaurant recently for the pre Swan Lake Dinner. I was really disappointed with the food. I ordered the veal and winter vegetables - the veal consisted mainly of fat, and the vegetables consisted of mash and 3 baby carrots. The Swan Lake Meringue Dessert was a complete different appearance from what had been publicly advertised, which was very disappointing.

The restaurant does have a nice atmosphere and the staff are friendly. However I did get the impression that we were less important than the larger parties that were there.

Next time I go to ROH I'll look at booking one of the other restaurants instead.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natalie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
110 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Lovely space with great views”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Usually quiet at lunchtime though busy pre- and post-theatre. A lovely space at the top of the Royal Opera House and has a wide terrace for warmer months with great views across Covent Garden Piazza. I went for lunch on a special two course set menu. For the starter I had roasted pumpkin with feta - quite good but needed something to make it a little more complex. My sister had a terinne which was good and well presented. For the main course we both had a mushroom tart which was creamy, with a good flavour of mushroom and served with a salad of chicory and watercress. There is a good selection of wines and we chose a Sauvignon Blanc from the organic list which was fruity with a finish of vanilla and coffee. Service was friendly and prompt.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sausage19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Brilliant Staff”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The staff are lovely in this restaurant and very good with allergies. The food is a bit fussy and very minimal so one is advised to eat all the bread offered. The prices are steep but that would be expected where the clientele is largely captive (or fit enough to sprint to external restaurants and be back in time for Act 2!).

A tip is to identify your table before you intend to start eating (if during the intermission) as otherwise you will lose a lot of time queueing and less time for eating in the short time available. However as the portions are so small, perhaps the problem is less acute!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EE528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amphitheatre Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Amphitheatre Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing