We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It could have been so good”
Review of Cottons - Camden

Cottons - Camden
Reserve with OpenTable
Cottons - Camden is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7,138 of 22,674 Restaurants in London
Price range: $0 - $76
Cuisines: Caribbean
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Stockholm
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“It could have been so good”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Went there two days ago. My girlfriend had lamb and apparently it was delicious. I had mixed grilled fish and it was some of the worst food i have ever been served at a restaurant. The fish was so dry i could hardly cut it, and the grilled bananas were also really hard and dry. The shrimp was good though, but cold like everything else on the plate. I hardly doubt the fish was grilled the same day. Don't know how it's even possible to make fish like that, i am truly stunned.
I know i should have complained, but i was tired after travelling from Sweden and really wanted to leave as soon as possible. Service was friendly though and the drink list looked nice. If i went here again i'd stay away from the fish and concentrate on the drinks.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shimro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    61
    24
    25
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Yum Yum Rum Shack!”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I adore caribbean food and this did not disappoint me, although fairly expensive it is worth it for a special occasion.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank thtourguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Tasty food & good service”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I had the goat curry & it was delicious, though a little boney. My friend said the Jerk Salmon was really nice too. The waiter was efficient and friendly, we were not left waiting for things and in general, had a pleasant visit.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cally1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Probably best Goat Curry I've eaten”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

And a friendly waiter. I've eaten a few goat curries including in the Caribbean and this was probably the best. The salt fish and pumpkin fritter was OK - slightly too doughy.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“awful service bad food”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Drove an hour to get to this restaurant, they were not at all accommodating for children had no kids menu and would not do a smaller portion. Ordered our main meals and then as they had no kids menu just ordered two sides for the little one. After waiting 45 minutes for our main meal we asked our waiter where our mains were, he said that he thought we didn't want it and so had not put the order through. I was so annoyed that I paid the bill and left, not realising we had paid for chicken wings that never actually arrived!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 652amandaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cottons - Camden also viewed

 

Been to Cottons - Camden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing