We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treat yourself”
Review of The Wolseley

The Wolseley
Reserve with OpenTable
The Wolseley is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #453 of 22,827 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $32 - $84
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Mayfair
Description: The Wolseley offers several menus in the Grand Café tradition including breakfast, morning pastries, afternoon tea, and an all day menu with sandwiches, salads, crustacea and plats du jour. We are open seven days a week.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Treat yourself”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

The beautiful setting, the great buzzy atmosphere, first class service and truly lovely food! It's our face restaurant and worth planning for as reservations for dinner are hard to get short notice ( unless you are famous!)

We've had breakfast ( wonderful) lunch ( a treat) afternoon tea ( better than the ritz by far ) and dinners ( always superb) the house wines are great and the food is not nouveaux but hearty and delicious

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank angela w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,808 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,949
    1,785
    703
    252
    119
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Must see”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Went for breakfast on a recent trip. Service very good although a little brisk. Pancakes were excellent as was the French toast . A must see in London iconic.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marymac13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“My favourite”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I just love it here. My favourite is breakfast. Delicious coffee, great service, fantastic French toast.

I've also dropped in the afternoons for coffee and cake and sat in the front parlour. Always a lovely experience.

Decor is lovely, the big windows and high ceilings make it really special and really not that expensive.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank laurenoneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A "must see"”
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

I ordered a light pre-theatre meal that really wasn't a test of the kitchen. I have no complaints. The highlight was the establishment itself. A bee-hive of activity while maintaining a nice formal service and a pleasant ambience. One could watch the "floor show" for hours. A "must see" destination in central London.

Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Beautiful Building, delicious food”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Reservations are a must!!! We ate at the Wolseley after the theater. Reservations were for 10:15 and the place was packed.
Started with oysters, sweet, fresh and chilled perfectly. The fish of the day was exceptional, my hubby's steak, perfect. My only complaint is that after midnight, service went downhill as several servers went off shift. For this reason we skipped dessert. It was hard enough to get water refills - much less try to order coffee or tea. I'm still rating it 5 because of the atmosphere, the building's stunning interior and of course, the food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wolseley also viewed

 

Been to The Wolseley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing