We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed and enjoyable”
Review of Artigiano

Artigiano
Ranked #5,476 of 22,557 Restaurants in London
Price range: $26 - $90
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Belsize Park and Swiss Cottage tube stations.
Description: Artigiano shows just how glossy Italian high style can be, with its stylish chrome interior, high-concept lighting, rear glass ceiling, and glass front that opens like pairs of welcoming arms when the weather allows. Don't miss the 'Oscar' donated by a satisfied diner. Lunches are relaxed and calm, while dinners are buzzier. The confident, modern Italian menu's most popular dish is the spaghetti with fresh crab and rocket with a spicy crab sauce. Old favourites have got a delicious new twist, like carpaccio with homemade pesto dressing or calf's liver with wild mushrooms and fava beans. High style, great food. Please be aware, bookings for Saturday nights must be booked at least 2 weeks in advance.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxed and enjoyable”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I visited on a quiet Sunday afternoon. We felt, for the area, the food was reasonably priced. Service was very good - though as I say there were only 4 tables being used when we were there. Perfect! The deep fried calamari and corriander was particularly good. We would recommend this lovely restaurant to others.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DandK7268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    40
    22
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
492 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Tries to Be More Than It Is”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Dressed up as an upscale Italian restaurant, with prices to match, the place offers average food accompanied by an indifferent service. While we were there it was obvious that they prefer to attend to the local patrons, and even speaking Italian doesn't change the fact.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GranZorro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caravaggio E, Manager at Artigiano, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Well please to say we always try to be more and do better. Seems that our decor at least was appreciated. We do try to look after all our customers, our regulars and also new clients who we hope become regulars,,logical. We do not however give preferential treatment to customers who speak Italian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't take your kids”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We went for an early meal on a hot Saturday night, and were dressed casually. We took two kids 6 & 8 who were pretty good. The staff however demonstrated a complete lack of warmth and interest in us. Food was above average, but also costed a lit above average. Overall an I comfortble experience. What makes people think this is acceptable?

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank MWnwLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caravaggio E, General Manager at Artigiano, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
I would like to point out to our guests that Artigiano is a restaurant that is frequented by a large number of families not only at week end, as their local restaurant, but even during the week therefore I cannot understand what have we done wrong in this instance.
On this Saturday night we had a waitress and a waiter that were serving this table and during the evening they did have conversations with the clients and the kids too despite the guests were Spanish speaking therefore I would say that saying that we lacked in warmth and interest comes as a surprise.
The lack of atmosphere indicated in the rating is probably due to the fact that at 6pm the restaurant was empty as our main trade starts later especially on a Saturday evening.
I would not label our food as average as we do take pride in what we cook and serve and we do not compromise on the quality of the products used. We are well in line with our competitors and probably even cheaper then some when you compare like for like not with main stream cheap chains of restaurants.
We do respect everybody opinion but I feel in this case we did nothing wrong.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
71 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Vastly over-priced”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

If you want to charge West End prices, you'd better be serious. Charmless front-of-house staff meet you on arrival. For some reason, it apparently takes 8 mins to prepare an empty table. Service is tiringly slow and glum.
£60 for a couple of plates of forgettable pasta and some prosecco is a total rip-off.
I won't be returning.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank deepoceansw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caravaggio E, General Manager at Artigiano, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear guest
I would have to disagree with being labelled overpriced. You paid £7.50 for a glass of Prosecco (more than one were drunk during the meal) which is below average and surely cheaper than West end prices.
If you compare like for like restaurants in the area and the West End I do not think we are more expensive; on the contrary you will find out that we are cheaper.
The evening in question was very busy with guests sitting outside and inside therefore the service cannot just stop in order to relay a table and a few minutes wait I think it is understandable.
The food is all cooked from fresh nothing is precooked or reheated therefore at times when the kitchen is under pressure it takes a few minutes longer and I am sorry if we gave that impression.
We try to stagger our bookings but because of the nature and location of the restaurant we do get a lot of our local residents that do not book and as they are our bread and butter we cannot turn them away and we try to be accommodating at all times.
We offer a set menu £16.50 for two courses apart from Saturday night and on Jazz evenings therefore I would not call the restaurant a rip off!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
177 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Excellent fresh food and wine, cool jazz on Fridays”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We dined here on a Friday evening, when they had jazz, on this occasion a cool modern trio. The restaurant is on two levels, and the jazz was on the lower section towards the back; the décor is modern and stylish. The front of the restaurant looks onto a quiet shopping backwater and the windows draw back on warm summer evenings, so the atmosphere was cool both figuratively and literally. Tables were laid formally with white linen. Waiters were perfectly friendly, informative and attentive without fussing. Food was Italian, of course - traditionally based but with some more adventurous twists than usual for Italian food - I liked it but would purists be critical? Pasta was perfectly al dente, the fish was fresh, the panna cotta was not oversweet, with a touch of fresh fruit and a pleasure of colours to the eye.

There was a cover charge noted in some literature on Friday jazz evenings, but it was not applied to my bill - I see that sometimes there is a fixed price menu on jazz evenings. The address is given as Belsize Terrace but this was not on my map - it is located at the upper (northern) end of Belsize Park Gardens. The entrance is up three steps and narrow for a wheelchair. The website is not easy to find and not that informative - look for the parent company Etrusca Restaurants. Our attempt to reserve a table through a web site had failed, so it looks as if their internet presence needs some attention on two counts.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cassini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Artigiano also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Artigiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing