We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thumbs up”
Review of Nipa Thai

Nipa Thai
Ranked #95 of 23,023 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $71
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: One of only 15 UK restaurants recognised by the Thai government for its quality and cuisine, Nipa wears its heritage proudly on its sleeve. The teak-panelled interior is inspired by its sister restaurant in Bangkok, with a profusion of orchids that feel strangely at home in their first floor setting in the Lancaster Hotel overlooking the Italian Fountains of Hyde Park. Three set menus and the extensive à la carte offer a mouthwatering range of intense Thai flavours, mixing traditional dishes of central Thailand with regional specialities.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thumbs up”
Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

Have been here 3 times now and feel very lucky to have this restaurant in the neighbourhood. Simply fantastic Thai food - fresh, flavourful and delicious. Staff are extremely friendly too. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank JhonMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2014_RandB, Manager at Nipa Thai, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear JhonMatt,

Great to hear that you have visited us 3 times. It is fantastic to read that you enjoy the food and service.

We look forward to see you again very soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    351
    116
    44
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not worth the rating they have”
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

We visted on Sunday 20th July for our wedding anniversary dinner as we had read the reviews & saw that they had been awarded the AA award for excellence (only 15 have been awarded out) but to be honest was left very dissapointed. We were seated straight away but the hostess didn't seem very friendly at all. Took us to a table and left without asking if we would like to order drinks (No, the restaurant wasn't busy either otherwise i could of understood why) It took us about 20 minutes before we were able to order. We had a sharing platter for starters; one of their signature dishes, it was okay nothing bad or great about it. I had the red chicken thai curry, but to be honest it was very bland & not much taste or heat compared to others I have tried. My parter ordered the thai green curry which had a bit more heat than mine. Green curry was the best one out of the two. We also ordered the flat fried noodles which were very nice and had a nice kick to it. Very recommendable. We choose cocktails for drinks Pimms and Mojito, not worth it at all when charging 9.50 per cocktail. Overall we were left dissapointed, thinking that the restaurant must be really good to have been awarded but to us it failed to deliver on all levels. I personally wouldn't recommend this restaurant. Too expensive for food which tasted like you have cooked it a lot better yourself.

Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2014_RandB, Manager at Nipa Thai, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Nicola D,

We are sorry to hear that your experience in Nipa Thai was disappointing. We aim to provide fantastic service and we are sorry that on this occasion we failed to do so. Your feedback has been passed on to our kitchen and front of house team. We constantly strive to improve our quality of service and food, therefore your feedback is important to us.

If you should consider to return we promise to look after you.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant authentic thai food”
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I went to nirpa after reading some good reviews and we were not disappointed. Our meal came to about £50 which was very reasonable for the food we ordered. The food was delicious and there were no complaints. Just a small niggle would be that on the night we went the staff were very busy and sometimes the service was slow because of it. It is also advisable to book in advance.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IndianaKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2014_RandB, Manager at Nipa Thai, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear IndianaKay,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the food, however we are sorry to hear that the service was not up to our usual high standard.

We hope you decide to come back again and we promise to give you a great service and a fantastic experience.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Lovely authentic Thai food, great service, value for money- we had the £19.50 offer before 7pm.
Felt like we were back in Thailand...superb.
Staff friendly and attentive but not too much.
Would recommend.

Helpful?
Thank QualityreviewsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2014_RandB, Manager at Nipa Thai, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Mattyniceguy ,

Thank you very much for your lovely comment. Its is great to read that you enjoyed our authentic Thai food and our great service.

We are looking forward to welcome you back.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

I took my boyfriend for a celebratory early dinner here and chose the Kantok menu (which has to be booked online beforehand). There was plenty of timings available for booking the day before which was great.

My boyfriend chose menu B while I chose the vegetarian menu. The food was great and he especially enjoyed his (plate cleaned!) although I'm sure my curry was missing beancurd (with a vegetable overload). Overall the food was great and £19.50 for curry, a starter dish, a side dish, rice and fruit dessert in central London you can't really go wrong! They also asked if we would like water, which came from a bottle for £4 (slightly deceptive however it was quite a large glass bottle).

The decor was very beautiful and before entering the restaurant itself seemed very classy and traditional. It was quiet at the time of day however the service was very good.

Pros:
Service, food, decor, portion size for Kantok menu

Cons: Would have liked a seat at the window since it was free and having the curry as presented on the menu.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Priya T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2014_RandB, Manager at Nipa Thai, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Priya T,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We are delighted to hear that you and your boyfriend had a wonderful evening. Our Khantok menu has proven to be very popluar and we have received fantastic feedback from our guests.
You comments will be passed on to the Nipa Thai team.
We are looking forward to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nipa Thai also viewed

 

Been to Nipa Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing