We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent evening out” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of INDIA Per Se - CLOSED

INDIA Per Se
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: We’re delighted to announce that ERIKI at Swiss Cottage has become INDIA PER SE,offering a sleek brasserie and cocktail bar, with a stylish lounge, which is also availableas a private dining area.Our new Executive Chef has created seasonal menus which focus on traditionalIndian cuisine with a modern twist, presented beautifully and offering great value. Wealso have a new bar menu featuring tapas-style starters and sharing platters, as wellas an extensive list of cocktails, wines and beers.We’re looking forward to the festive party season, contact us to find out more aboutbespoke menus for your event, either drinks and canapés in the cocktail bar or afantastic sit-down meal in the brasserie or lounge
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“excellent evening out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

Late on a sunday evening after a day spent sight seeing in London City myself and 2 lady friends found this restaurant just by chance. From the way it looked on passing by in our car we decided to park up and have a meal there. Great choice.
The restarant is beautifully decorated and the furniture is just amazing. Tastefully lit and with room for each table of clients to feel they are in their 'own space', not crowded.
Considering the time we arrived we were made to feel welcome and nothing was too much trouble for the very friendly staff. We were not rushed at all and helpfull advice was given to our choice of dishes.
The food was supurb, tasty,ample and very fresh. Presented well and served quietly. Full marks to the chef.
Definately would recommend this restaurant. Hopefully we will be returning to London and another visit will be on the list of things to do.
All three of us eat frequently in Manchester's Curry Mile and believe me this rate's highly with the best of the best on there!!!!
Go and enjoy.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank eliz l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    17
    10
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Superb South Asian Cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

This is the Indian restaurant that I turn to if I am in the area and fancy an Indian meal.

This usually translates into eating here 2 or 3 times a year (I live about 100 miles away but I am often in London).

The food is much better than your average Indian restaurant- it is delicious, clean flavoured, with lovely breads and rices.

Interior is modern and clean with imported rustic tables and cutlery, making for a pleasant juxtaposition.

Service is efficient and polite.

It is more expensive than most South Asian restaurants but not as expensive as the more high-end Michelin starred Asian restaurants in London.

I would say it is good value for money, I don't mind paying more if I get good quality in return.

The family love eating here as well.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vincas64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Highly over priced, average to poor quality food and poor value for money.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

Food was disappointing. I would say below average for the price as the curries are around £14,even with the taste card discount we feel they are still overpriced.
We ordered 2 completely different main dishes KADAI METHI PANEER & SEA BASS
PERI PERI SIZZLER to share and they tasted almost the same.
It tasted as if they had used exactly the same base sauce and simply added chilli powder-very unsatisfactory.
The sea bass was hard.
The starter of scallops was very small , it appeared that one scallop had been diced into 3 small pieces and that was the portion, the sauce was ok for this but only enough to feed a child, unsatisfactory for £7
The chicken started was overcooked.
Very uhappy to have spent nearly £50 on a meal without any alcohol with a taste card at
such a poor quality venue.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank DeniDeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s7ssl, Owner at INDIA Per Se, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write on Tripadvisor.

Whilst we always welcome comments, positive and negative, we would encourage you to write directly to me in the first instance by emailing sat@eriki.co.uk to imvestigate your complaint.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food and helpful staff - highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

We went there 2 nights in a row when staying at the Holiday Inn Express Swiss Cottage, its a short walk and the food was excellent.
We were 4 adults and 4 small kids (3-6 yrs old) and the staff were very attentive and helpful. The restaurant is more suited to fine dining, but the staff quickly transformed our table to a more child-friendly one.
They got the kids' food quickly to prevent tantrums and the service was excellent, as was the food.

The menu includes both classic Indian food and "fusion" dishes, and this is a great place if you want to give non-conventional Indian food a go.

There is no take-away menu though, you need to order the food online for take-away. A bit of a problem if you are a tourist without internet access. Was not a problem for us though, we did not do the take-away.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CricketLover1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent indian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

We ate here during our overnight stay at crown hotel before flight.

Food and service was excellent.

Well worth a visit

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Betweenmeals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed INDIA Per Se also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing