We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Malabar mouth watering”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Malabar

Malabar
Ranked #6,691 of 22,367 Restaurants in London
Price range: $19 - $63
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Serving spice on the "Hill" since '83
Rosmalen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Malabar mouth watering”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Wonderful flavours , would highly recommend to have dinner or lunch here.
Even if you are on your own you Will feel very at home

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fayetje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    49
    37
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
268 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Satisfactory”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

For many years, we have thought of dining at Malabar. In its heyday, I guess it was a Michelin Red M. That day seems to have passed. We enjoyed the meal but it was not extraordinary Indian food by any means. I will say that the lamb in my curry was tender and excellent. Maybe it was the atmosphere - admittedly on a rainy Sunday night - but it was somber.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GaddisGadabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
117 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good local Indian, a cut above the average”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Good local Indian, with a nice selection of well-seasoned food and friendly staff. Lots of locals and repeat customers, with a few from the sub-continent, so they must be doing something right. We go often.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank langej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Below average food”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Our first visit to this rather overpriced restaurant which has very uncomfortable seats and below average food. The ambience leaves a lot to be desired and coupled with the rather dull food, I would not go there again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MiltonKeynesCherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nicer food than your average local curry house.”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

The food here really is very good for the price and that is what recommends the restaurant. Unfortunately the seats are pretty uncomfortable and this really puts me off going there more than I do as you really feel like you are perched on a church pew. Gets busy so book in advance, but for a curry in this neighbourhood well worth a look.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oscar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malabar also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Malabar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing