We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ambiance and food”

Mamounia Lounge Knightsbridge
Reserve with OpenTable
Mamounia Lounge Knightsbridge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6,146 of 22,827 Restaurants in London
Price range: $45 - $61
Cuisines: Lebanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Knightsbridge
Transit: Tube: Knightsbridge
Description: In the heart of the exclusive Knightsbridge district, Mamounia Lounge offers a funky yet luxurious Moroccan and Lebanese dining experience in London. Mamounia is the ultimate destination for delicious Middle Eastern dishes, chilled cocktails, eclectic tunes and incredible shisha pipes. Mamounia is just a 7-minute stroll from Knightsbridge Tube Station.
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great ambiance and food”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

A group went on an adventure and were not disappointed. Warmly welcomed at the door, we were not disappointed either by the quality of the food and the friendliness of the waiters. We agreed that we'd go to this restaurant again.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Latoya519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mam0uniaL0unge, Public Relations Manager at Mamounia Lounge Knightsbridge, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Hi

Thanks for your review!
Hope you had a great time.
We cant wait to welcome you back :)
Team Mamounia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    67
    31
    19
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, great service and great entertainment!”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

My girlfriend and I were staying nearby two weeks ago and hadn't booked anywhere for Saturday night dinner. We spotted this Restaurant which was a hive of activity outside and chanced our luck on getting a table. Thankfully we snapped up the last table. My girlfriend had marinated chicken wings to start (jawaneh) and I had the sausage tasting platter. For the main we had lamb meshwegeh and shawarma lamb with accompanying house rice (house rice is very tasty!). Both meals were delicious and I have to say I found the meshwegeh to be as succulent and as flavoursome as I have ever had. To top of the night we shared an extremely delicious chocolate fondant which was freshly made. I would come back for that alone! Throughout the night the staff were extremely helpful and friendly and gave us good tips of where to go for some drinks afterwards. In the middle of the evening a belly dancer came out twice and performed, this was really great fun and what made it more enjoyable was that some of the staff joined in - you could see everyone were enjoying themselves - customers included. I would have no hesitation in recommending the restaurant and when I get back to London again I will be ordering the same again!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IrishGoLucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mam0uniaL0unge, Public Relations Manager at Mamounia Lounge Knightsbridge, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Hi

Thanks for your great review! so glad you had a nice time with us!

We look forward to welcoming you back!
Team Mamounia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“food good but so cramped”
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Visited on a Sunday night and only the front part of the restaurant was opened. They had really squeezed the tables together and I felt as if we were on a date with three other couples.

Food was good and cocktails are nice, such a shame they are not listening to the comments on here about them cramping diners in.

Helpful?
Thank Kaz245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mam0uniaL0unge, Public Relations Manager at Mamounia Lounge Knightsbridge, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Hi

Thank you for your feedback.

We are glad you enjoyed your food and drinks with us. In regards to your comments re the cramped space you were sat in, we are very sorry you felt this way and we are now looking into opening the back section of our restaurant when we feel guests will be cramped.

We appreciate your comments

Team Mamounia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“http://forkofflondon.com/2014/01/18/mamounia-lounge-mayfair/”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Mamounia, a small town in northern Algeria, a plush world class hotel in Marakech or the newly refurbished Mamounia Lounge lying near the fabulous Shepard’s Market on Curzon Street? Well the latter it was…

The first thing you see you get when walking up to the restaurant is the people gathered outside smoking the Shisha pipes. If any of you have had the pleasure of going to Turkey you’ll know this definitely adds to the atmosphere, but the food is where it’s at in this blend of Morocco and the Lebanon.

Greeted by impeccable service from the outset we were led downstairs to the restaurant… (But for those just wishing a drink off the extensive cocktail menu the lounge bar upstairs won’t be disappointing either).

We chose a glass of Prosecco to start off whilst watching some of the live music laid on (A regular activity on Friday and Saturday nights there), with the chaps behind the keyboards and guitar contributing to that genuine feeling of Arabia.

We sat down reading the varied menu, and were aided by the waitresses showing passion and knowledge about the choices on offer to us. It has to be said that there is a good touch in the menu where some of the more unusually named items on offer have a page of definitions available. Nice.

To start we chose the Sausage tasting platter with a selection of three different sausages and a portion of Moutabel (Smoked Aubergine Puree with Tahini, Garlic and Lemon Juice Topped with Pomegranate Seeds Served with Hot Homemade Pita Bread), and for mains we chose Chicken Shawarma and Lamb Shank Tagine – we also got side orders of the Mamounia Special Rice – (Brown Rice fried with Chermoula, Garlic Butter, Peppers, Pine Nuts and Parsley) and Homemade buttered Couscous.

The sausage platter was a triumph, three fabulous different sausages Makanek (Lebanese Sausage), Merguze (spicy north african sausage) & Sojuk Sadah (a spicy turkish sausage) – all made with different spices like cumin, sumac, garlic and mint. Sprinkle some lemon juice over them all, and kick back for a party in your mouth. Lovely. The Moutabel dish with fresh flat breads also hit the target – of course using the bread to scoop and mop up the puree’d Aubergine and pomegranates.

Along with the live music, (with a belly dancer being added to later) the mains struck all the right chords. The Chicken had a terrific balanced spiciness to it, and the lamb was falling apart with very little effort. The side dishes of the rice, and the couscous accompanied perfectly.

Finishing off with a lively and rich dessert of Chocolate fondant, strawberries and terrific home made ice cream really rounded off the meal well. We were at this point wonderfully full, so it does have to be said with the portions being so generous, those with slightly less of an appetite might be happy with less that what we went for. With dishes on offer from all over the Arabian Med it doesn’t seem likely many will be disappointing.

Overall you feel nicely spoilt like you’re being looked after by good hosts. The music is not overly noisy or intrusive, but along with the aforementioned belly dancer, very entertaining. The whole place was bustling with people and the mixed, exotic flavours demonstrate chefs with a good knowledge of Moroccan and Lebanese cuisine. There are also a very wide range of vegetarian options so this is definitely a venue for all-comers.

Definitely worth a visit, especially on the weekend.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ForkOffLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Cosy little place”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Group of five ladies dined here on a Saturday evening. The pretty decor and mood lighting created a nice ambience, however the tables inside were cramped. The food was ok, not amazing. I ordered a halloumi cheese mezze to start, which was lovely and so was expecting a nice main. My main was disappointing, the shish taouk (grilled skewer chicken) was dry, perhaps overcooked, and lacked in significant flavour. We wanted to try the shisha, however there were only four tables outside, which were occupied during our visit. There was a variety of cocktail choices (with amusing names!). They looked quite tasty so this might be the place to head to for a few drinks. Recommendations to the restaurant: remove some tables inside and place them outside for shisha, extend the licence times to serve shisha (currently finishing at 11pm), and improve the shish taouk dish.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mam0uniaL0unge, Public Relations Manager at Mamounia Lounge Knightsbridge, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Hi
Thank you for your review and all of your comments and recommendations.
Your comments have been passed onto all staff and we have taken all into consideration when looking into improvements at Mamounia Lounge Knightsbridge.
Thanks
Team Mamounia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mamounia Lounge Knightsbridge also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Mamounia Lounge Knightsbridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing