We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Runaway success!”
Review of The Running Horse

The Running Horse
Ranked #7,670 of 22,827 Restaurants in London
Price range: $0 - $26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Mayfair
Description: A flawless setting, The Running Horse offers gastro pub favourites within a beautiful converted townhouse. With original features restored to their former glory, The Running Horse dining room is enveloped by warm wood panelling, original fireplaces and expansive sash windows. Cleanly executed dishes are served alongside sumptuous loaded sandwiches, and a prized boutique wine list features carefully chosen bins.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Runaway success!”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Had two after work parties here, staff so attentive and accomodating. Cocktails great (and unusual!) too!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DimeyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    34
    10
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Quirky and quaint ��”
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Me and the girls stopped here for a bite to eat and a little drink! We were very well looked after even though it was very busy! Lager shandies in steins and our meals were delicious. I had steak and jockey whips aka ... Chips thank you to the bar staff for the shopping tips too. Will be back again when we are next in London.

Helpful?
1 Thank Daviespartyof8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great time in The Whip / The Running Horse”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We had a lunch for 20 in the Whip / the Running Horse. Great food and atmosphere. The staff were very accommodating and helpful. The mint juleps are the best! We had people from Kentucky in the group and they said that the mint juleps were incredible.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JourneysandTravels4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coronado, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A True Gem!”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

This place is fantastic!!! We had cocktails with wonderful rhubarb vodka (the drink special for the evening)... and they were perfect. The lamb shepherds pie was divine ( and perfect portion size), it came with a side of lightly sautéed kale...yum!!! To top it all the staff and owner were extremely friendly and helpful.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank koro33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very nice dinner”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Thought by the name that this might be a pub with pub food but it was so much more! Housed in a building hundreds of years old, the interior is charming and light, without that dark pub atmosphere. The wait staff were thoughtful, helpful and responsive. Both my husband and I enjoyed the food and the beer that was on tap. Would visit again!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KimBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Running Horse also viewed

 

Been to The Running Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing