We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maghreb Restaurant & Bar

Maghreb Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #14,244 of 21,544 Restaurants in London
Price range: $55 - $55
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: Highbury & Islington Tube & Rail: 5 minute walk Essex Road Rail: 5 minute walk Angel Tube Station: 10 minute walk Bus routes 19, 30, 4, 43, N19, N41: 2 minte walk Bus routes 73, 38, 56, 341, 271, 476: 5 minute walk.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Picked this by chance after walking the streets of Islington. We were quite early and so we were placed by the window, which suited us. Good choice of dishes, seems authentic as best I can tell. Starters were excellent, and my main tagine was also perfect. Other main was a slightly dry chicken. Service was very good: attentive without being obtrusive. Would readily go again when we're in the area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dvz12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    12
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
590 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“Good hearty food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Went with my sister and her other half. Restaurant wasn't busy when we got there, but soon filled up. Menu has a lot of choice, and around 10 tagines, ranging from a selection of different lamb dishes, through a fish tagine to rabbit and venison. Everything was very fresh and well cooked and presented. Reasonably priced for London - came out just over £25 per head including drinks and 10% service charge (which is automatically added to the bill).

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Clivel_98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

We eat here whenever we are in the area and never disappointed.
Forget all the other, newer, trendy places in Upper Street. Maghreb has been here for ages and the food here is always excellent.
Wine list has a good mix too. Some of the Morrocan wines are a real treat!

Helpful?
Thank LAL403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very good couscous”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Went there on a sat evening based on Tripadvisor recommendations (don't ask me why, but that day we have been craving for a good couscours...)

We arrived early & since the restaurant was almost empty, they put us by the window to attract passers by... (In the end it worked, when we left at around 9pm the place was very busy).

We ordered a grilled meat couscous, coming with meat balls, merguez, lamb and chicken, and a duck tagine.
Both were extremely flavorful, plenty of food without being an overkill, & reasonably priced wine.
We tried the dessert but that was really stodgy so we left them there...

I would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a couscous.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Resyek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
71 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Moroccan cuisine in Islington ... a pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Islington, a wide choice of restaurants. A few weeks ago, I was there with some friends. Almost by change, we saw this restaurant and we decided to try it.
It was a pleasant surprise ... great food, wide choice of dishes, excellent service.
Definitely one to return to.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lormiuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maghreb Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Maghreb Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing