We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of My Old Dutch - Holborn

My Old Dutch - Holborn
Reserve with OpenTable
My Old Dutch - Holborn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3,055 of 22,204 Restaurants in London
Price range: $12 - $25
Cuisines: Dutch, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Holborn
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Service was incredibly slow. We had been waiting in the doorway for at least 5 minutes, several times staff walked past us but no one even acknowledged us.
Despite ordering our sweet option with our starter order we waited 40 minutes for it to arrive. We were told the tea we ordered was ready only when we told them not to bother and to just bring the bill.
I've had poffetjes in the Netherlands, there they are light delicious little pancake bites. At My Old Dutch they are thick stodgy and chewy. They look more like blinis than pancakes.
I was excited that Shrove Tuesday had fallen on my birthday but was thoroughly disappointed with this pancake house.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nurstin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    239
    144
    60
    65
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“What a let-down”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

My husband used to work near here a few years ago & has always told me how good it was so I was really looking forward to it. When we arrived we were seated straight away by a harrassed, grumpy waitress. We were near the door which didn't shut properly so it was very cold. After 15 minutes, 3 more tables had arrived in the area we were in, but none of us had been served. We decided to leave. As we walked out I noticed that the other part of the restaurant was full. There must have been 40 people there & one waitress trying to serve everyone. No wonder she was so grumpy! At £8 a pancake, I think they could afford to employ a few more staff.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quick service but beware optional service added to total”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Have a quick lunch in this afternoon. Overall the atmosphere and service was not bad. I order a pint of Heineken and a Lamb Pancake. If you ask me what they should improve, I will say the pancake was not enough ( but the filling is okay ). Staffs were friendly but a bit too casual.

I understand all catering staffs are relying on the gratuity as part of their wage but I don't agree what they did cox they did not mention on the menu. I am happily to pay more than they suggest on the bill if it voluntary or they did mention before hand.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Noodle148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Should be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

I have very fond memories of My Old Dutch stretching back to my childhood and apparently they have been around since 1958 (I'm not that old!) and while the Monday Any/All Pancakes for £5 is wonderful there are some elements that are more than a bit tired... The plates are badly chipped which I think has gone beyond shabby chic and into just plain shabby while the toilets are reported by my Better Half as being badly in need of re-vamping... or at least cleaning.

Overall it was a fun trip but currently only really suitable for cheapo student-esque nights out rather than anything more but with only a tiny bit of work it could be/would be much better

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Doctor_Monkey_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very special pancakes!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Wide selection if both sweet and savoury pancakes. It's a very popular place especially on Saturdays when many of other restaurants in the area are closed. Portions are big and service is fast. We got 2 mains and 2 cups of coffee for £27 service included (although the 12.5% service charge is extra on the menu). Tap water is complimentary. I would recommend it as their pancakes are something unusual and unique to this place.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Massimiliano V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed My Old Dutch - Holborn also viewed

 

Been to My Old Dutch - Holborn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing