We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Abingdon

Abingdon
Ranked #976 of 22,376 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $82 - $82
Cuisines: European, British, Pub, Bar, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: South Kensington
Level Contributor
130 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Place worth visiting. Its welcoming and warm. Staff is really nice and service is generally very good. Food is superb. Only two 'buts'. Beer selection is ridiculously small and main dish must usually be waited for ages. Other than that, great place!

Helpful?
Thank YTenorio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    100
    14
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good food, good service. Not cheap.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

I visited whilst staying at the Copthorne Tara Hotel located nearby. On arrival there were no tables in the restaurant, but the helpful staff got us a table in the bar, and in about 15 minutes called us through to our table. Our young waiter was very good, made helpful recommendations and generally looked after us well. The food was really tasty, as was the wine. Good quality that you pay for, but no less enjoyable. I would visit again if I was nearby.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paulcurtley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Pre-Christening lunch for 9 plus baby”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

We all met up from all over the country before going on to our first Grandsons Christening. Very relaxed and welcoming. Excellent service and food. We were made to feel so comfortable and at home by the owner of The Abingdon. We all decided we would meet up there again for our next celebration get together.
Highly recommend this Pub for its food service and decor.
Thanks

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 9elliot999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

In London for a Sunday morning trade show in Olympia and wanted somewhere for lunch so headed down Kensington High Street with lowish expectations on finding a good lunch at a reasonable price. Using Tripadvisor's "near me now" feature we chose the Abingdon just off the high street and were delighted with our choice. More Bar/Restaurant now than pub, airy, bright rooms, good decor and especially cheerful and helpful staff created a nice atmosphere. It was Sunday lunch menu; we chose starters of a Thai beef salad (rare beef with a mild thai dressing on mixed leaves) and a Kohlrabi and cucumber salad both of which were excellent. For main course the haddock served with pickled red pepper and tarragon rosti was particularly good and the roast pork was also very enjoyable. It was obvious there was a lot of regular returning customers and you could see why. If in that area again will definitely return.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank muffaletta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Always busy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Our little group meets here monthly for drinks and the owner always holds our corner of the room for us. Great attentive service with a reasonable bar menu and a good selections of wines and beers. On occasion when we have eaten in the restaurant we found the food excellent.

Always busy ...and justifiably so

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank walpolepark11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abingdon also viewed

 

Been to Abingdon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing