We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go here for something a little different!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Adulis

Adulis
Ranked #2,872 of 22,375 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $23
Cuisines: African, Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Go here for something a little different!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Very nice authentic cuisine. Great atmosphere and nicely delivered. Have an open mind- you wont find a menu like it locally! Do visit, and try the local honey wine.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Woueza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    42
    20
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
64 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The best Eritrean restaurant in London!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

I love Eritrean kitchen and this place is just the top One. Everything is perfect, food, quality, service, prices, atmosphere!! It just feels like heaven. Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheTravellerProWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Homely feel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

I have been to Adulis it has been lovely and warm atmosphere and the staff is always helpful and happy to help with food selection.
They go above and beyond to help like last time when they went out and bought a cake for my aunts birthday on a bank holiday without any problems. It was such a surprise for her and So appreciated.

I can not wait to go back and can warmly recommend it if you want lovely food and is around Oval.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yohanna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
119 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great fun – something a little different”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

I’d already tried Ethiopian cuisine in a small restaurant in North London, but spotted Adulis (‘Little Eritrea’) a couple of days ago and had to check it out. I wasn’t disappointed. Service was so friendly and they will happily cater to couples or large groups – I saw both when we ate there. It’s a very relaxed and atmospheric place which is lit with candles and has been decorated with animal skins and traditional rustic furniture which would be perfect for a date. Also, they don’t rush you away from your table when you finish, which contributes to the relaxed feel of the place.

If you’re not familiar with Ethiopian cuisine, here’s a brief introduction: the curry, salad and rice is served on a traditional flatbread and you are given extra flatbreads to eat it with. It’s gorgeous food and good to try something a little different.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank millie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great for something new!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

What an experience! I've never eaten with my hands before! I wasn't too sure about the pancake stuff, it had a citrusy flavour which got a bit much after a while, but the selection of curries were all very delicious, as was the honey wine.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alice r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adulis also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Adulis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing