We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab cocktails” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Galvin at Windows Restaurant

Galvin at Windows Restaurant
Ranked #191 of 22,204 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $249
Cuisines: French, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene, Scenic view
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Mayfair
Description: Awarded a Michelin star and 3 AA Rosettes for its impeccable cuisine and ambience, the spectacular 28th floor panorama over the London skyline may have made Galvin at Windows a destination restaurant, but the inspired menu of modern French haute cuisine makes it impossible to overlook. The most talked about restaurant in London, Galvin at Windows has a glamourous interior blending the golden age of the 1930s with a modern theme. Together with Head Chef Joo Won, acclaimed Chef-Patron Chris Galvin has prepared a straightforward range of classic dishes that are ideally suited to the elevated Mayfair surroundings. The neighbouring bar boasts an impressive collection of whisky and cognac alongside classic and contemporary cocktails served on the rare Italian Saint Laurent marble bar top, which adds to the seductive atmosphere of the room. Whether you need to impress an important client or want to enjoy an intimate dinner for two, Galvin at Windows will offer you an exceptional dining experience.
Shropshire, UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Fab cocktails”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Fab atmosphere on Fri evening... pricey but gorgeous with incredible views in all directions as it's on the top floor. Do reserve as all of the best window seats had gone by 6pm.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank pmsnowdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,594 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,602
    625
    214
    97
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Happy Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

We recently had lunch in this iconic restaurant which benefits from superb views over Hyde Park and Buckingham Palace. Initial impressions upon arrival were great. All the staff were very friendly and highly efficient without being in any way intrusive. They not only knew about the food they were serving but pointed out landmarks too.

Once we were seated a glass of champagne was brought - what a start! We opted for the Menu du Jour and both chose to begin with Raviolo of Haddock (an open Raviolo with undyed smoked Haddock and a slow cooked egg with a runny yolk [how do they do that?] and Brioche crumbs). This was really good.

To follow we had Confit of Lamb with Polenta puree, chard and caper sauce. At this point we asked for a side of cauliflower gratin which was brought almost immediately. Given that we sprung that on them I thought this was great service. The lamb was beautifully presented and tasted devine. The Sommelier, a really fun Italian lady from Tuscany, suggested a 2010 Little Yerring Yarra Valley Pinot Noir which, though light, went very well indeed.

For dessert we both chose Baked Egg Custard with Rhubarb and a liquorice root ice cream. This was served with a lovely dessert wine, again suggested by the Sommelier.

All in all a lovely experiece and we have determined to return with some friends later in the year. Wholeheartedly recommended.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Food as Good as the Views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Probably worth arriving at the Hilton a bit early so you can have a drink in the bar and admire the views before settling down for dinner in the restaurant. Keep an open mind because the bar is a bit dated, full of tourists and feels a bit tacky compared to Galvin next door.

Had the degustation menu with the flight of wines which was absolutely bang on. The scallops ceviche and pached brill were amazing. Wines were good but the sommaliers a little rushed and wouldn't enagage in any further conversation about the wine other than the usual read the label on the back speech.

One tiny critisism was that our waiters seemed to be at odds with the maitre d and were getting a ticking off in earshot of us. Probably a one off but not something I want to be in range of when paying top dollar for a meal. Would of been a 5/5 otherwise.

All in all a great night and would recommend it for couples wanting a bit of smooch or a group of friends, with a group you get a better chance of a window table that come with an even better view.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joobes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
86 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Knockout view on Hyde Park with great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

"Business" lunch with a friend was excellent here. We had the degustaion with matched wine. Some lovely, well-presented and delicate food. Service was good but not over-fussy.
Also a great spot for a few cocktails after your meal.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Drpete1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
66 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Excellent staff, food and view and excellent value set lunch.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Sunday Lunch at Galwin at Windows: Apart from the excellent friendly service, Michelin quality food and pretty good value, (if you don’t go “off piste”) you will be having lunch on the 28th floor of the Hilton Park Lane and taking in one of the best eating views in London. The staff even had time to point out some of the sights for us.

I think the best value is the 3 course set lunch (lots of choice) with a half bottle of wine (from a very decent selection), water and coffee all at £45 plus service. But for drivers and non drinkers the same menu is available without the wine or just two small glasses for less.

For those with deep pockets, it’s fairly easy to go into orbit, and I thought my cauliflower cheese at £5 for a large spoonful a bit on the steep side – tasty though!

On the other hand, we got a freebie amuse bouche to start and a large jar of marshmallows with our coffee and chocs, which my wife took away from me after I had eaten most of them - spoil sport.

Galvin turns tables, so if they are busy you may have to take your coffee in the bar, but we did not have to and in any case you get the same view.

For the fixed price lunch menu I would have scored the value at 5 stars, but I gave it 3 because it can get expensive.

Ask for a window seat – if they have it you will get it and try for a south facing view as I think there is may be more to see. In the evening prices are a bit higher, but must be magical especially on a clear night.

Lastly - many starred restaurants are hard or impossible to book at a weekend, in our case Galvin was not.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TonyVCarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galvin at Windows Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Galvin at Windows Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing