We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely afternoon tea”
Review of 108 Brasserie

108 Brasserie
Ranked #526 of 23,571 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $86
Cuisines: British, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Marylebone
Description: Set in the heart of Marylebone, 108 Brasserie offers a truly local all-day dining experience. The new 108 Brasserie, just off Marylebone High Street at the top of Marylebone Lane, will house two distinctive areas; the bar, a chic drinking and dining area and the brasserie's dining space, where its modern British dishes take centre stage. 108 Brasserie represents local dining at its best; hearty, uncomplicated food made from the highest quality ingredients centred around the restaurant's Josper grill. 108 Is open all day, seven days a week, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner - great food, good wine and friendly service are the order of the day. The menu, inspired by food that's foraged, farmed and fished from our great isles, includes a wide selection of dishes where the emphasis is on fresh produce focusing on the seasons, balanced with its hand-picked wine list with something for everyone. The restaurant experience, from the service to the ambience make this unfussy space a local favourite. The interiors, designed by Alexander Waterworth Interiors, reflect 108 Brasserie's traditional style with a modern twist. Rich red leather and burnt orange mohair upholstery combined with beautiful parquet and a dark stained oak bar creates a stylish and inviting environment. The antique mirrors and nickel detailing add a depth and sophistication to the design.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Took some visitors to a lovely afternoon tea in The Pantry. The room is elegant and modern and even has a little (gas) fireplace. Table settings are pretty and classic without being fussy. The staff is friendly and attentive. We arrived exhausted from shopping an hour early for our booking and were happily accommodated. Price is very reasonable for London teas. We found a two-for-one voucher on Afternoontea.co.uk. The savories and sweets were fairly typical (cucumber, smoked salmon, Victoria sponge, scones ...), but all tasty and pretty. Tea selection is small - 6, including an Assam, Earl Grey, Chamomile and, more unusually, a Hibiscus - but high-quality. They even offer a "healthy" tea option and gluten-free treats, if that is a concern.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kelliemurfski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas V, Manager at 108 Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback,
Pantry at 108 is our newest dining space, one which we are proud of. Your feedback was a delight to read. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Nicolas Vallon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (597)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

461 - 465 of 598 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2014

Booked this last minute. Waiter friendly but service poor. Had to keep asking for water for the table. What is wrong with putting a jug of water with ice on the table? Had to ask for ice as well as water was warm. The starters were lovely. Two salads and piri piri prawns . Mains . Steak over cooked and burger only just warm enough but to hungry to complain really. The red wine was ice cold. Waiter told us so but why serve red wine that is not at the correct temperature??? This is Central London and no excuse for serving wine badly. There were only two waiters for the entire place. Someone is trying to save money somewhere.!!!!! There were other people complaining about the food etc. it just spoils the evening really. This is a hotel which needs to maintain a reputation and they clearly don't have a clue about customer service. We did not tip the waiter and we feel bad about this but they need to complain to their manager to sort things out. Why should we have to fight for them??? Customer service is everything right??? Just say.... Sorry for the wait... And is the food ok??? Etc... Non of this happened. We would not recommend this place and I hope the waiters find a better place to work!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sallyann87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas V, Manager at 108 Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review following your recent visit to 108 Bar & Restaurant.
I am sorry to read that you encountered service issues during your visit; I have addressed your comments with my team and I can assure you this will not happen again. Our guest feedback is incredibly important to us and is taken seriously, it is only through our guest feedback that we are able to improve our service and our guest experience; we are constantly improving our standards and learning the very best way of meeting and exceeding our guests’ expectations.

I would personally like to invite you and a guest back to experience 108 Bar & Restaurant with the service you deserve, please contact myself Nicolas_vallon@doylecollection.com and I will be happy to make the reservation for you.

I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to 108 Bar & Restaurant at The Marylebone Hotel.

Kind Regards
Nicolas Vallon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

And yes! Coming from the far reaches of the UK it is always difficult to trust a restaurant first time for a. full blown dinner. 108 turned out to be quite delightful. Very reasonable prices and exemplary service. You know what? All the staff were smiling from the get go which is so confidence building for a girl alone in a new city. The food was a bonus and perfectly in tune with the day.

I will try the hotel next time!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jan358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas V, Manager at 108 Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments following your recent visit to 108 Bar & Restaurant.
Your fantastic review describes what we strive for every day, all our staff enjoy working here and glad it is evident to our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back (with a smile) to 108 Bar & Restaurant at The Marylebone Hotel.

Kind Regards

Nicolas Vallon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

A lot of people wouldn't even think of 108 as a brunch place, but really, I can't recommend it enough.

Professional, polite and friendly staff serve excellent brunch fare which tastes well beyond expectations.

Recommendations include the waffles with compote and syrup and, my favourite, steak and eggs.

The Prosecco is also a good effort instead of the common metallic type found in brunches.

Meal for four with Prosecco and coffees - £104. Not a bad price for Central London.

Thank Damian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas V, Manager at 108 Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment following your recent visit to 108 Bar & Restaurant, it was lovely to read.

We look forward to welcoming you back to 108 Bar & Restaurant at The Marylebone Hotel.

Kind Regards
Nicolas Vallon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We had a wonderful dinner at the 108, and enjoyed the music. The food was excellent, and the staff was great.

1  Thank maxdanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas V, Manager at 108 Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment following your recent visit to 108 Bar & Restaurant. I'll be sure to pass them on to our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to 108 Bar & Restaurant at The Marylebone Hotel.

Kind Regards
Nicolas Vallon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 108 Brasserie also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to 108 Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing