We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Whits, not for Twits”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Whits - CLOSED

Whits
Price range: $25 - $83
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: South Kensington
Description: Whits is a mainstay of the Kensington dining scene, attracting locals with its relaxed ambience and imaginative array of modern European classics. The pleasant restaurant interior, with its bright skylight and elegant ironwork, adds to the welcoming vibe, while dishes use ingredients often obtained directly from France to enhance the regularly changing menu.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Whits, not for Twits”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

We love Whits! 2 X Steak (Rib eye) & chips (hand cut) please. With an exciting mixed salad. The friendliest service, the most succulent, flavoursome steak, the snappiest attention to detail, the easiest ambience. We love it and we keep returning like no other restaurant that we ever went to. Some may last for five or six visits but Whits has lasted forever. Always superb in every respect.
A big thank you to Eva and Steve for all the effort that they put in to make this experience seem effortless. It's magic and, we love whits!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnMealyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

538 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    397
    114
    21
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grandbaie Mauritius
1 review
“Wonderful Atmosphere and Delicious Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Our experience at Whits made our trip to London one to remember! After months of travelling and "honeymooning" this place sure stands out in my mind. Great ambience, Food to die for and a lovely front of house :) All in all loved it!

Helpful?
Thank jules8841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I went to Whits about two weeks ago on vacation. The service was amazing as well as the food. When you walk in it is like walking in to see family. Thank you for such a great experience and great food!!!!!!

Helpful?
Thank Colin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Dean, Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A real treat, delicious food in great setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Title says it all: delicious food cooked perfectly and great choice of seasonal products, attentive service, fabulous atmosphere. Lovely evening.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durris, Scotland
Level Contributor
174 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Exceptional food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

We were warmly welcomed and felt instantly comfortable. The menu offered an attractive choice from which we chose lobster ravioli and a bone marrow casserole as starters. The flavours were beautiful, and this was true also of our mains. Steak and lamb were cooked perfectly and were so tender. Produce is clearly well sourced and seasonal, and the assortment of mushrooms enhanced both the mains. There is a fine selection of wines on offer at reasonable prices. We chose this restaurant because of other good reviews, and, based on our experience, Whits is well worth seeking out.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alastair G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whits also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing