We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Whits - CLOSED

Whits
Price range: $25 - $83
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: South Kensington
Description: Whits is a mainstay of the Kensington dining scene, attracting locals with its relaxed ambience and imaginative array of modern European classics. The pleasant restaurant interior, with its bright skylight and elegant ironwork, adds to the welcoming vibe, while dishes use ingredients often obtained directly from France to enhance the regularly changing menu.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
82 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

Had dinner at Whits with several colleagues and we had a jolly good time! The food was really good and Eva and her husband was very service minded and made us feel very welcome. Will be back! Cheers :)

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ThomasBergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EvaWhitney, Owner at Whits, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Google Translation
Tusen takk!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

538 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    397
    114
    21
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“You can't go wrong - amazing restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

We went out to dinner last night with family from Canada. From the minute you walk in, the enviroment is relaxing and welcoming. The service is excellent, any questions answered - definitely a cut above most of the restaurants in the area. Starters are generous, we enjoyed the salmon and white crabmeat, my guest from the East Coast of Canada raved on and not to miss is the Kent asapargus. My favourite main is the rib-eye steak with handcut chips and salad, always cooked to perfection and melts in your mouth. Believe me, my two companions managed to clear most of the chips before I got to them! I would highly suggest trying the King & Queen Scallop risotto...there is alot scallops in that dish. Scallops are tricky to cook - our compliments to the chef for doing them right. Whits has been my favourite restaurant since we first arrived in South Kensington and we continue to take guests for business and pleasure. It's one of those places that never let you down.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CanadianinLondon_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EvaWhitney, Owner at Whits, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and bringing your guests to visit. We hope to welcome you back for many more years!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandello del Lario, Italy
Level Contributor
901 reviews
637 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 547 helpful votes
“Over rated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

I hand' t booked, but they where flexible enough to find me a place, in the main dining room. The ambiance is modern, but the feeling is that it's unfinished. I ordered an appetizer of liver and bone marrow, but the bread was burnt. The main course a fillet of turbot seemed precooked. The apple tarte was a bit sticky. The price specially if compared to the near by kitchen W8 is to high.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank gilardoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothylees, Owner at Whits, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent visit. We’re sorry that you weren’t completely satisfied with your meal but we can assure you that all our dishes are cooked to order not “pre-cooked”. Our apple tart is sticky because it is caramelised and finished with Calvados. We believe that our prices for dinner are very competitive especially for prime fish. Other nearby restaurants do offer lower prices for lunch and set menus but higher prices for dinner. We do not open for lunch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great restaurant.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

Lovely restaurant. Not too small or big, just the right setting.

All three courses were delicious. Felt very satisfied after, both from the taste and the portions. The pudding was great, three on one plate.

Service was really good, just the right amount of time between each course.

Brought a friend here for their birthday, and they were just as pleased. Commended me on the choice. Very satisfied with the night. Thank you TripAdvisor for bringing this gem to our attention!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely meal. Excellent service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Decided to book here after reading reviews and was not disappointed.
Starters and mains were very good and the service was superb. Price very good.
We were there for our anniversary dinner and the owners gave us a free glass of bubbly.

Helpful?
Thank dave151076
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Whits also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing