We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Yummy with fab desserts” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whits - CLOSED

Whits
Price range: $25 - $83
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: South Kensington
Description: Whits is a mainstay of the Kensington dining scene, attracting locals with its relaxed ambience and imaginative array of modern European classics. The pleasant restaurant interior, with its bright skylight and elegant ironwork, adds to the welcoming vibe, while dishes use ingredients often obtained directly from France to enhance the regularly changing menu.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Yummy with fab desserts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Based on previous reviews we chose this restaurant. It did not disappoint but wasn't quite as wonderful as other reviews would read. The food is very good with excellent desserts. The service was attentive without being intrusive. We visited on a Saturday evening and it was full so I would advise a reservation. My only niggle would be that the tables which use the long bench on the first level are seated slightly too close together. We unfortunately had to listen to some idiot asking Siri a list of endless questions (he stopped when requested). Even then his table of three's conversation totally dominated our table of two and did put a dampner on it for us.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BugnBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

539 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    398
    114
    21
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Superb athmosphere and friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Based on other recommendations we booked table at this restaurant and had a splendid evening. Very good food and wine, and a very friendly staff. Next time in London I will for sure eat at this restaurant

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneOslo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Worth all the accolades”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Wow. Booked this restaurant purely on reviews found on TA and I have to say my wife and I were not disappointed in the slightest. Unlike more well known branded restaurants, this has quite a homely feel and you are made to feel extremely welcome and the service is second to none. The food is also absolutely delicious and at an extremely reasonable cost.
The portions aren't miniscule either and I would not hesitate to return here or to recommend it to friends and family. Thoroughly deserving of its reputation on TA and a tribute to all the hard work they have gone through to get them to where they are. Carry on the good work as we will be back!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank raybrahms1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Our Best Dining Experience in London”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We celebrated our wedding anniversary at Whits and it was wonderful. The table was tucked away in a corner of a room that is very relaxing and classy. The owner, Eva, could not have been more charming and made us feel very welcome from start to finish. The food was excellent from the complimentary champagne for our anniversary, to the very reasonably-priced and superb wine tasting, through our appetizers and entrees, and of course, dessert. Staff service was top notch. Do NOT miss dining at this restaurant when you are in London!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Da Lat, Vietnam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A birthday treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

I took a friend to celebrate their birthday on the recommendation of other comments on Trip Advisor. We were made to feel extremely welcome; hospitality was second to none! The food, wine and service was excellent. If we were living in London, Whits would certainly be frequented more often. Definitely a real gem! We had a really enjoyable evening, which ended with two glasses of champagne which were 'on the house'. Many thanks.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vietnam52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing