We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful find”
Review of Whits - CLOSED

Whits
Price range: $25 - $83
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: South Kensington
Description: Whits is a mainstay of the Kensington dining scene, attracting locals with its relaxed ambience and imaginative array of modern European classics. The pleasant restaurant interior, with its bright skylight and elegant ironwork, adds to the welcoming vibe, while dishes use ingredients often obtained directly from France to enhance the regularly changing menu.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A wonderful find”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We went with friends for dinner at Whits on the recommendation of other friends. We were not disappointed and indeed came away longing for our next visit. The restaurant is set away from the bustle of High Street Kensington and is small, cosy and intimate with a level of service that is top-notch . The food was delicious - the marinated salmon was to die for and the tuna and risotto for mains were excellent. We resisted the temptations of a delicious-looking desert menu - next time! All in all it was a lovely evening in a lovely restaurant and we will definitely return and recommend it to others.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nickie3015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

538 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    397
    114
    21
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Romantic meal for two”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We visited this restaurant in early July on rare weekend in London, we were celebrating my partners birthday and wanted a special but unpretentious place to go where quality and friendly service could be had. I looked at many restaurants on tripadvisor and was struck by Whits as a result of other reviews. We were not disappointed, this is a fine restaurant with lovely food and very attentive and friendly staff. As is mentioned elsewhere the portions are generous and I was recommended that my intention to add a side to main course was unnecessary, advice I was glad I took. Unless you are very hungry then you may find yourself in the eternal dilemma of starter or dessert?

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank toffeemadkipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Recommendable”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This was the first restaurant we visited during our ten days stay at a borrowed apartment in Inverna Gardens. The service was excellent and the staff attentive. We felt very much at home. The lobster ravioli was served with a delicious sauce. The lamb was perfectly cooked and tender, but lacked the crisp crust outside. It was beautifully pink inside. For dessert we shared a chocolate plate with ice cream. We’ll be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helge J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
1,673 reviews
1,046 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 449 helpful votes
“Enjoyed and would visit again”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Received a pleasant welcome and bar drinks while waiting for companions.

As often seems to be the case, the list of appetisers looked more interesting than the entrees. And, they were successful as we tried marinated salmon, lobster ravioli and a foie gras terrine (though was this too salty).

For main courses, two of us had the tasty scallop risotto, finding this tasty but not filling enough (hence they were happy to try the hand cut chips that came with our steaks). Now maybe it was our mistake to order steak here, and when it came the meat was alright, the chips were tasty (though could have been crispier) and the accompanying salad was welcome. But is "alright" good enough?

What I mean is that the steaks as cooked, were not tender or juicy enough and had little exterior char. Perhaps the problem here and elsewhere is that the grill (said to be used) just does not deliver enough heat with the result that it is difficult to produce top range steaks. So, the steaks were disappointing.

Not so the desserts that were excellent. We had the cappucino creme brulee, a lovely duo of peaches, including a souffle, and herring roe on toast (one of us thinks this is a great way to finish off a meal).

After coffees, and including a bottle of wine, and those earlier bar drinks, the bill was in the expected range - expensive but not excessive.

Overall we rated this place as very good and one we would like to visit again

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Choose for a celebration or casual dining”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Up from the country to meet friends and explore London for the day, we crowned our evening with dinner at Whits Restaurant in Kensington. What a splendid decision! Six of us chose from a tempting menu including appetisers of lobster and scallop ravioli with buttered spinach, seasonal English asparagus and entrees such as Mexican-style grilled wild sea bass, roast venison and wild mushroom and champagne risotto. The finale of an assiette of lemon: hot soufflé, lemon tart and lemon sorbet was sumptuous. Service was swift and cordial and the atmosphere was warm and relaxed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whits also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing