We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant food!”

Shalamar Kebab House
Ranked #4,714 of 28,444 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Indian
Neighborhood: Whitechapel
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Whitechapel
Reviewed July 28, 2019 via mobile

Have eaten here twice. (My partner was told about it by her Asian workmates at the nearby hospital ) She often gets the Chicken in a naan for lunch.
It's not the smartest place in London, but everything is cooked fresh in front of you.
We had the Chicken Tikka naan and vegetable Birriani. Jug of water on the table. Really good food. Nice hot sauce to accompany it. For £10 for two !!!!
Not hard to find, an absolute gem.
Will eat here all the time when in London.
Unmissable.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank Andy_the_Birder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 27 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2019 via mobile

I’ve visited some five times now and have never been disappointed. The staff remember a face and are tremendously friendly and welcoming. All dishes are authentic and very well priced. I highly recommend the naan and roti made in front of your eyes and presented newly-made, warm and delicious.

This is a must if you are in Whitechapel and looking for food. It is a first choice for many and for much of the local Pakistani community.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Henry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2018

was working near by place looked a bit shabby but decided to give it a try with my colleague was not disappointed we had a chicken curry each 2 rice and i nan bread
all for £11 the food was excellent must say the food was so good i got a take away for
my wife and she loved it will definitely be returning

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Allan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2018

Excellent Chicken Biriani takeaway, plenty and enough for a person per packet, lots of meats and not a greasy at all.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank zaforir2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2018 via mobile

I’ve been eating here for nearly 3 decades. The menu is simple and small and for good reason. The chef concentrated on delivering homely cooking packed full of flavour. It’s not fancy, it’s not stylish. If you’re looking for he authentic taste of Pakistani food, eat here. You won’t be disappointed

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank 222susieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shalamar Kebab House also viewed

 

Been to Shalamar Kebab House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing