We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of Wiltons

Wiltons
Ranked #63 of 23,391 Restaurants in London
Price range: $46 - $198
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: St. James's
Description: Wiltons, established in 1742, has consistently enjoyed a reputation as the epitome of fine British dining in London. George William Wilton provided the finest oysters to the traders of London"s Haymarket. Today Wiltons continues that tradition and continues to serve the finest oysters, seafood and game. Wiltons combines a modern philosophy on service with all that is traditionally British to create the perfect dining experience. If you are making a reservation for groups of 6 or more, please contact Wiltons directly. Should you have any special requests i.e birthday cakes or champagne, please advise Wiltons immediately upon making your reservation. We politely ask that gentlemen wear long sleeved shirts and long trousers, no sportswear or open toed sandals.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We had a party of 8 for a private dining experience for a special occasion. The manager worked with my brother in advance to choose a menu that met all of the special dietary requirements and tastes. We had a private room and private service. Everything was magnificent. Even the cheese selections were awesome. It really was a pleasurable experience and the food was fantastic.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank marusia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison M, Guest Relations Manager at Wiltons, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear marusia,
Thank you for your very kind works and we are delighted you enjoyed private dining in 'The Jimmy Marks Room' at Wiltons. Thank you for mentioning our British cheese board, we constantly work hard to ensure that we have the widest range of cheeses sourced from all over British Isles.
Please come and visit us again.
Yours sincerely,
Alison McLennan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (651)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

498 - 502 of 651 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

Our pre-theatre dinner was lovely with attentive but not intrusive service. In common with most restaurants, some of the food was too salty - especially the spinach - but we forgot to ask about this when ordering. They charged us for a more expensive fish course - turbot - than the halibut my partner was served, but corrected this without demur.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 954Richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison M, Guest Relations Manager at Wiltons, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear 954Richard,
Thank you for your feedback and please never hesitate to ask with regards to seasoning – we will always do our best to accommodate.
We hope to see you again.
Yours sincerely,
Alison McLennan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Planning an international surprise birthday party for 8 people from three different countries could be a daunting task but Wilton's made it simple. The general manager, Alison and her staff orchestrated a bespoke, wine paired evening that made my wife's special day extraordinarily memorable. The food was superb, the wines were paired exactly and the service was far beyond expectations! Whether it be for a quiet elegant evening would or a complicated event, I would highly recommend this old world establishment.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Roman F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison M, Guest Relations Manager at Wiltons, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Roman F,
It was our pleasure to help make your wife’s birthday such a memorable one. It gives us great satisfaction to receive such kind words about your special occasion.
Perhaps you could make it an annual occurrence in the privacy of 'The Jimmy Marks Room' which accommodates up to 20 guests.
We hope to see you all again.
Yours sincerely,
Alison McLennan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

What an incredible meal we had! I was afraid, judging by the décor, that the place would feel too clubbish or snobby to really enjoy, but that was not the case at all. Our server was quite friendly, humorous even, and very efficient. The raw oysters were divine, and it was fun to compare their tastes, being from two regions. The Dover Sole was melt-in-your-mouth good. I won't return to London without dining at this quintessential British landmark of a restaurant!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank daisygirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison M, Guest Relations Manager at Wiltons, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear daisygirl2013,
Thank you for your review. We constantly monitor where we source our oysters to ensure they are the finest available. We recently added fresh Stone Clams which are presented the same way as our oysters. It is also fun to compare the two different types of wild smoked salmon which we encourage.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Yours sincerely,
Alison McLennan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Good food, excellent service, and convenient location.

Wilton remains as it is and as it should be.

Recommended

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PhAParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison M, Guest Relations Manager at Wiltons, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear PhAParis,
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments which are greatly appreciated.
We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Yours sincerely,
Alison McLennan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wiltons also viewed

 

Been to Wiltons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing