We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, but expensive”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wiltons

Wiltons
Ranked #75 of 22,376 Restaurants in London
Price range: $45 - $193
Cuisines: Seafood, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: St. James's
Description: Wiltons, established in 1742, has consistently enjoyed a reputation as the epitome of fine British dining in London. George William Wilton provided the finest oysters to the traders of London"s Haymarket. Today Wiltons continues that tradition and continues to serve the finest oysters, seafood and game. Wiltons combines a modern philosophy on service with all that is traditionally British to create the perfect dining experience. If you are making a reservation for groups of 6 or more, please contact Wiltons directly. Should you have any special requests i.e birthday cakes or champagne, please advise Wiltons immediately upon making your reservation. We politely ask that gentlemen wear long sleeved shirts and long trousers, no sportswear or open toed sandals.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent, but expensive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

The service was outstanding and so was the ambiance. This is a high class restaurant for a special occasion, and best if you are on an expense account. For example the wine, 80 pounds for a bottle, was perfect for the meal

Food was fresh and well prepared. I had salmon and dover sole. It was first rate, but not really the best I've had, so a little disappointing for the money.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JAtlanta_48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison M, Public Relations Manager at Wiltons, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear JAtlanta_48,
Thank you for your review and we are delighted you enjoyed your Wiltons experience.
We hope to see you again soon.
Yours sincerely,
Alison McLennan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    428
    104
    33
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great special occasion meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Our family (daughters 11 & 13) had great memories from Wilton's from our trip two years ago. We were staying in Mayfair and it was an easy walk. We made last-minute reservations and were accommodated in the oyster bar. The food and service were fantastic. The place oozes history. It is pricey but a worthwhile splurge. It specializes in seafood but the non-fish options are also excellent.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank freds06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison M, Public Relations Manager at Wiltons, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Freds06,
Thank you for your review, we are pleased we could accommodate you in our Oyster Bar where the full a la carte is available at lunch and dinner. The Oyster bar is particularly popular with sole diners who are actually not dining alone when in our company!
We hope you and your daughters will create more memories at Wiltons for many years to come.
Yours sincerely,
Alison McLennan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Fantastic service and a dining experience. Prices are high. Dover sole was cooked to perfection -really worth a visit

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mandy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison M, Public Relations Manager at Wiltons, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Mandy P,

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased that our efforts in aspiring to perfection are acknowledged. We are committed to always doing our best.

Yours sincerely,
Alison McLennan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“food ingrediants good but too much butter makes the food unhealthy and pretty much carry similar tastes”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

the service is good, but the restaurant is too cold with the aircon which is set at too low a tempetature. It makes us uncomfortable and is not friendly to our environment. we must be all be environmently responsible and accountable

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank greenguy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison M, Public Relations Manager at Wiltons, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear greenguy66,

Thank you for taking the time to make your comments, both of which have been duly noted.

Yours sincerely,
Alison McLennan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Old school British atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Well heeled Brits and classic English dishes made this a fine dining experience. To avoid the hefty pound/dollar conversion at dinner, make reservations for lunch in advance. Wear a "proper" suit or dress, and enjoy a taste of British aristocrat way of life.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Texasrealtor8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison M, Public Relations Manager at Wiltons, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Texasrealtor8,

We are glad you enjoyed your last Wiltons dining experience.

Whilst we do encourage guests to make a reservation it is by no means necessary so please feel free to stop by even if you haven’t booked – we will always try to accommodate no matter how busy we are.

Yours sincerely,
Alison McLennan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wiltons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing