We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wiltons

Wiltons
Ranked #75 of 22,376 Restaurants in London
Price range: $45 - $193
Cuisines: Seafood, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: St. James's
Description: Wiltons, established in 1742, has consistently enjoyed a reputation as the epitome of fine British dining in London. George William Wilton provided the finest oysters to the traders of London"s Haymarket. Today Wiltons continues that tradition and continues to serve the finest oysters, seafood and game. Wiltons combines a modern philosophy on service with all that is traditionally British to create the perfect dining experience. If you are making a reservation for groups of 6 or more, please contact Wiltons directly. Should you have any special requests i.e birthday cakes or champagne, please advise Wiltons immediately upon making your reservation. We politely ask that gentlemen wear long sleeved shirts and long trousers, no sportswear or open toed sandals.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Everything was perfect from the moment we entered this iconic restaurant. The staff were attentive, friendly, knowledgeable and professional. The food, simply scrumptious. I started with the beef consommé and had sole meunière for dinner with cucumbers on the side. My husband started with the smoked wild salmon and had a steak for dinner with green beans and tiny matchstick fries on the side. A lovely wine was suggested by the wine steward and we finished dinner with sublime desserts. My husband had the passion fruit soufflé and I had a trifle. It was an expensive dinner, but it was a treat, as always, to dine there. We will definitely return the next time we're in London.

Helpful?
1 Thank Sunny429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    428
    104
    33
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington
Level Contributor
318 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Superb spot but Uba Expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Another trip to Wiltons; the food is sensational. The fresh crab is a sure winner; oysters are divine and The Dover Sole is a dream The staff are wonderul; a warm welcome is always assured and Wiltons depicts the full atmosphere of a quintessential English Restaurant.
Guaranteed enjoyment but expect a big bill.
If you fancy a coffee and a cigar and brandy afterwards; pop next door to Scotts and sit outside and watch the world go by in Jermyn Street

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teesdalepark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Never less than outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

I am an irregular visitor to Wiltons, perhaps twice a year, but I have never found the food, wine and service anything less than outstanding. I am not a famous politician, nor a sufficiently regular visitor to receive recognition or special treatment, just a random customer who enjoys good food. I therefore find some of the comments on here trite and bizarre.

OK, it's not at the bargain bucket end of the market, but given the quality, location and style only a fool would expect it to be. My lobster cocktail was fresh, plentiful and truly delicious and my main course of skate wing was cooked to perfection (and at £24, just £4 more expensive than I pay in Rochester). And the cheeses are perfectly served, who could resist the delights of a ripe Stilton brought to table on a trolley and served by a scoop, rather than a blocks of refrigerated bricks straight from the fridge, which is how even some top restaurants now serve their cheeses.

Wiltons might not be everyone's cup of tea. The formal service, dress code and lack of faux mateyness must be anathema to the Surf and Turf brigade whose views seems to dominate this site, constantly looking back to the good old days of Steak Diane and Black Forest Gateau at the local Berni Inn . Long may it remain so.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ak23566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherton, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“England as you expect it to be”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We go to Wilton's each time we are in London and it never disappoints. The food and wine are always outstanding and the service is impeccable. Case in point : I had already made theater reservations, and in London this usually means a 7:30 pm curtain. The earliest reservation at Wilton's shown on Open Table was 6:00 pm, but I thought I remenbered that they actually openened at 5:30. Sure enought, through Wilton's website I was able to get a 5:30 pm reservation, which is still pushing it to make the theater in time. So we arrived about 15 minutes early and they could not have been more accomodating. We were seated and offered wine, although we couldn't otder food since the menus fro the evening had not yet been printed! When they arrived (promptly at 5:30) we found out that our favorite Dover Sole (which Wilton's prepares 4 different ways) is generally not available in the 5:30 - 6:30 pre-theater period. However, they made an exception for us and we again dined like royalty in this beautiful, club-like atmosphere with impeccable service. Without feeling hurried, we comfortably made it to the theater after a dining experience which we will long remember.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ggharmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
319 reviews
267 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“Ludicrously expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

The best thing about Wilton's is Michael who, I think, is its Maitre D'. He is polite but you cannot help feeling he is taking the Mickey out of the extraordinarily rich clientele he is serving. "Good morning, my Lord" you can hear him call, as the British aristocracy wander in from Jermyn Street. To be fair, the food is good but not that good that Wilton's can charge what it does. Fairly poor grouse - £35! It's a joke. The Number 1 oysters are marvelous but at £4 each? Another joke. Wilton's is living off its reputation as one of the best fish restaurants in London. Granted the fish is great but you really have to be a millionaire to eat there. I am not, and won't be coming back -unless, of course, someone else is paying. The wine list is equally crazily expensive. Nothing worth drinking under £75.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Feff35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison M, Manager at Wiltons, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Feff35

Thank you for your feedback after your lunch at Wiltons.

We always source our produce from suppliers who only use the very best produce from sustainable sources, and while this increases the cost and therefore the selling price of menu items we try as much as possible to keep our prices in line or below comparable restaurants in the local area.

We will continue to offer our £48 Menu at lunch which is great value as it includes 3 courses and 2 glasses of wine.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to Wiltons in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wiltons also viewed

 

Been to Wiltons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing