We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“England as you expect it to be”
Review of Wiltons

Wiltons
Reserve with OpenTable
Wiltons is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #75 of 22,808 Restaurants in London
Price range: $46 - $196
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: St. James's
Description: Wiltons, established in 1742, has consistently enjoyed a reputation as the epitome of fine British dining in London. George William Wilton provided the finest oysters to the traders of London"s Haymarket. Today Wiltons continues that tradition and continues to serve the finest oysters, seafood and game. Wiltons combines a modern philosophy on service with all that is traditionally British to create the perfect dining experience. If you are making a reservation for groups of 6 or more, please contact Wiltons directly. Should you have any special requests i.e birthday cakes or champagne, please advise Wiltons immediately upon making your reservation. We politely ask that gentlemen wear long sleeved shirts and long trousers, no sportswear or open toed sandals.
Atherton, CA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“England as you expect it to be”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We go to Wilton's each time we are in London and it never disappoints. The food and wine are always outstanding and the service is impeccable. Case in point : I had already made theater reservations, and in London this usually means a 7:30 pm curtain. The earliest reservation at Wilton's shown on Open Table was 6:00 pm, but I thought I remenbered that they actually openened at 5:30. Sure enought, through Wilton's website I was able to get a 5:30 pm reservation, which is still pushing it to make the theater in time. So we arrived about 15 minutes early and they could not have been more accomodating. We were seated and offered wine, although we couldn't otder food since the menus fro the evening had not yet been printed! When they arrived (promptly at 5:30) we found out that our favorite Dover Sole (which Wilton's prepares 4 different ways) is generally not available in the 5:30 - 6:30 pre-theater period. However, they made an exception for us and we again dined like royalty in this beautiful, club-like atmosphere with impeccable service. Without feeling hurried, we comfortably made it to the theater after a dining experience which we will long remember.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ggharmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    448
    108
    35
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level 6 Contributor
318 reviews
266 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Ludicrously expensive”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The best thing about Wilton's is Michael who, I think, is its Maitre D'. He is polite but you cannot help feeling he is taking the Mickey out of the extraordinarily rich clientele he is serving. "Good morning, my Lord" you can hear him call, as the British aristocracy wander in from Jermyn Street. To be fair, the food is good but not that good that Wilton's can charge what it does. Fairly poor grouse - £35! It's a joke. The Number 1 oysters are marvelous but at £4 each? Another joke. Wilton's is living off its reputation as one of the best fish restaurants in London. Granted the fish is great but you really have to be a millionaire to eat there. I am not, and won't be coming back -unless, of course, someone else is paying. The wine list is equally crazily expensive. Nothing worth drinking under £75.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Feff35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison M, Manager at Wiltons, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Feff35

Thank you for your feedback after your lunch at Wiltons.

We always source our produce from suppliers who only use the very best produce from sustainable sources, and while this increases the cost and therefore the selling price of menu items we try as much as possible to keep our prices in line or below comparable restaurants in the local area.

We will continue to offer our £48 Menu at lunch which is great value as it includes 3 courses and 2 glasses of wine.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to Wiltons in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Very good fish restaurant”
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Very good fish, many types, many preparations. The service was impeccable, the fish was fresh and well prepared. I recommend for a special occasion!

Helpful?
Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Gem”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

My dad took me here when I graduated from university ten years ago, and when I finished my MA this year we went back, feeling nostalgic. The restaurant is still beautiful, and still reassuringly traditional. Cannot fault the food or the service.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sarahlockwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Simply wonderful old fashioned style and service”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Ive just read some of the other reviews, and feel the bad ones must have had a rare 'off day' slip up.
We love coming to London, as it offers such diverse choices of resteraunt. We were recommended to try Wilton's, and we're unsure what to expect. It turned out to be a charming step back into old world service and quality cuisine.
Our friends always ask about the wonderful, exciting meals we have had whilst away, so, when I told friends we had eaten avocado and prawns followed by turbot for me, and lobster for himself, then trifle, they were quite underwhelmed! Oh how wrong can they be!! In five days of top resteraunts, this meal was the one I could remember every mouthful! Simple, well cooked totally fresh ingredients will always make a meal memorable. The staff uniform caused a little comment from 'himself' and the American couple seated by us - "You English must like to feel as though 'Nanny' is still serving you" he joked (the green striped uniform is a little reminiscent of the nursery).
We can't wait to return and think the price is well worth it (having just returned from the South of France, it's positively cheap!!)

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SCW51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wiltons also viewed

 

Been to Wiltons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing