We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant dining, attentive great service”
Review of Wiltons

Wiltons
Ranked #73 of 22,853 Restaurants in London
Price range: $46 - $196
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: St. James's
Description: Wiltons, established in 1742, has consistently enjoyed a reputation as the epitome of fine British dining in London. George William Wilton provided the finest oysters to the traders of London"s Haymarket. Today Wiltons continues that tradition and continues to serve the finest oysters, seafood and game. Wiltons combines a modern philosophy on service with all that is traditionally British to create the perfect dining experience. If you are making a reservation for groups of 6 or more, please contact Wiltons directly. Should you have any special requests i.e birthday cakes or champagne, please advise Wiltons immediately upon making your reservation. We politely ask that gentlemen wear long sleeved shirts and long trousers, no sportswear or open toed sandals.
Macau
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Elegant dining, attentive great service”
Reviewed March 17, 2012

We walked in around 9:30 pm with no reservation. We were greeted graciously and given a lovely corner banquette for two. The chefs specials were gone, but the Dover sole and halibut entrees were delicious. The waiter split two appetizers for us and the sommelier had good recommendations for wine by the glass. This was a wonderful, elegant old London dining experience

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SwitzerNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    451
    109
    35
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Exquisite dining in the soul of Winston Churchill”
Reviewed January 22, 2012

When in search for a good restaurant for that "special moment" (or any moment!), some diners opt for Michelin star establishments. Personally I prefer a restaurant with soul or even has a good story to tell. Located right on Jermyn Street, famous for it's shirt tailors, right behind Fortum and Mason department store and a five min walk from Picadilly, Wilton's used to be the preferred lunch restaurant for Sir Winston Churchill. As you enter and deposit your coat and bags, continue into the restaurant and look to your right at the first table - this is where he had his seat!

This restaurant has not disappointed me any time I was there. Don't miss out their famous rock oysters (the restaurant holds several awards as best oyster opener). You'll be presented for their a la carte menu and daily gigantic carvery trolley. I have tried either, but admit that especially the Dover Sole blew me away. Service is very attentive and courteous, and as you look around the place, beautifully decorated with paintings from old time London, you'll notice quite a number of business lunches taking place - usually proof of a very good quality place. A visit to London for me is not complete without a visit to Wiltons. Attention Gentlement: Jackets required. Bon appetit!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nordic_Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Expensive but perfection usually is.”
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Not having been to Wilton's since last summer, I was really looking forward to this visit to see if they had maintained their standards. I need not have worried: they have exceeded them and my meal was perfect in every detail. This immensely comfortable, old fashioned restaurant is tucked away in Jermyn Street (where all the shirt shops are), parallel with and one block south of Piccadilly. The staff are impeccable, courteous, friendly, attentive and willing to do almost anything to guarantee your satisfaction. For example, there are a few tables in the connecting passage between the front and back areas. They are not ideal being subject to traffic of staff and customers. They put me at one of these and I asked to move, but I was was not happy there either, so they moved me again without the slightest hesitation. As they say, accommodating your wishes is their aim.So, if something is not to your liking, please do speak up. Now to the food. The lobster bisque is quite simply divine and is unlike any I have ever tasted anywhere else. I then had grilled turbot (not the same as the fish which is called turbot in North America and so much better). This was a huge thick chunk of the most delicious flaky fish ,perfectly cooked. I had it with scrumptious fried potatoes and lovely glazed carrots. it was superb. The chocolate souffle was equally as good. In short, the meal left nothing to be desired. To be sure, Wilton's is expensive, but then perfection usually is.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A superb mean”
Reviewed December 22, 2011

A classic menu, superbly executed and truly wonderful service. Just as we need forward-looking restaurants trying new techniques, we need to look back at classic restaurant dishes and experience what makes them classic.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank WhereElse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Inventively modern with classic ingredients”
Reviewed December 17, 2011

You won't be getting in if you do not belong here, nor if you are not dressed, though Sir X and I arrived at the same time, and he also borrowed a jacket. A well-fitting one.
There is both a bar and a banquette area for solo diners, and conversation is expected there.
Most tables are intimate friends engaged in the talk that a warm room with great food and drink will bring out.
I ate there twice and each dish and each wine was perfect. Scottish lobster, Grilled and Newburg, nothing from a commissary in the sauces. Brussels Sprouts and Spinach prepared with bacon and modernly underdone. Pheasant and stuffing, Roast Turkey for the season. The wine pairings were perfect, the staff always there. Good coffee and sinful little marzipan and bream chocolate bonbons.
This all comes dearly, so read the menu at the door if you think it is an obstacle.
They've been there for 270 years, but other than the couple next to me, [wink] nothing felt old, just classic.
That's it: Classic and classic and updated without a touch of pretense

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank HanoiFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wiltons also viewed

 

Been to Wiltons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing