We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive but perfection usually is.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wiltons

Wiltons
Ranked #81 of 22,202 Restaurants in London
Price range: $43 - $186
Cuisines: Seafood, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: St. James's
Description: Wiltons, established in 1742, has consistently enjoyed a reputation as the epitome of fine British dining in London. George William Wilton provided the finest oysters to the traders of London"s Haymarket. Today Wiltons continues that tradition and continues to serve the finest oysters, seafood and game. Wiltons combines a modern philosophy on service with all that is traditionally British to create the perfect dining experience. If you are making a reservation for groups of 6 or more, please contact Wiltons directly. Should you have any special requests i.e birthday cakes or champagne, please advise Wiltons immediately upon making your reservation. We politely ask that gentlemen wear long sleeved shirts and long trousers, no sportswear or open toed sandals.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Expensive but perfection usually is.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

Not having been to Wilton's since last summer, I was really looking forward to this visit to see if they had maintained their standards. I need not have worried: they have exceeded them and my meal was perfect in every detail. This immensely comfortable, old fashioned restaurant is tucked away in Jermyn Street (where all the shirt shops are), parallel with and one block south of Piccadilly. The staff are impeccable, courteous, friendly, attentive and willing to do almost anything to guarantee your satisfaction. For example, there are a few tables in the connecting passage between the front and back areas. They are not ideal being subject to traffic of staff and customers. They put me at one of these and I asked to move, but I was was not happy there either, so they moved me again without the slightest hesitation. As they say, accommodating your wishes is their aim.So, if something is not to your liking, please do speak up. Now to the food. The lobster bisque is quite simply divine and is unlike any I have ever tasted anywhere else. I then had grilled turbot (not the same as the fish which is called turbot in North America and so much better). This was a huge thick chunk of the most delicious flaky fish ,perfectly cooked. I had it with scrumptious fried potatoes and lovely glazed carrots. it was superb. The chocolate souffle was equally as good. In short, the meal left nothing to be desired. To be sure, Wilton's is expensive, but then perfection usually is.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    409
    102
    31
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A superb mean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

A classic menu, superbly executed and truly wonderful service. Just as we need forward-looking restaurants trying new techniques, we need to look back at classic restaurant dishes and experience what makes them classic.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank WhereElse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
90 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Inventively modern with classic ingredients”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2011

You won't be getting in if you do not belong here, nor if you are not dressed, though Sir X and I arrived at the same time, and he also borrowed a jacket. A well-fitting one.
There is both a bar and a banquette area for solo diners, and conversation is expected there.
Most tables are intimate friends engaged in the talk that a warm room with great food and drink will bring out.
I ate there twice and each dish and each wine was perfect. Scottish lobster, Grilled and Newburg, nothing from a commissary in the sauces. Brussels Sprouts and Spinach prepared with bacon and modernly underdone. Pheasant and stuffing, Roast Turkey for the season. The wine pairings were perfect, the staff always there. Good coffee and sinful little marzipan and bream chocolate bonbons.
This all comes dearly, so read the menu at the door if you think it is an obstacle.
They've been there for 270 years, but other than the couple next to me, [wink] nothing felt old, just classic.
That's it: Classic and classic and updated without a touch of pretense

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank HanoiFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Simply excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2011

Traditional british cuisine with very high standard of service.
The food was delicious and the wine list excellent.
The service up to the standard one would expect from a renowned central London restaurant.
The environment and setting very British and elegant.
Just a wonderful experience worth its expensive price

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pippi_Rome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The best - not just a meal; it is an experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

If I could imagine someone offering me lunch or dinner for 2 in London, this must be it. Wiltons is my favorite. Wonderful warm reception when you arrive: you already begin to feel you are on holiday and something special is about to happen.

The service is impeccable and friendly, the menu is old-style English with wonderful fresh ingredients (try the Dove Sole!). The wine-list is superb. The staff are very friendly and will do anything for you. Even the other diners seem nice – they smile and say hello when you sit down and leave (very rare in London). The decor is delightful. Wiltons has the reputation of being very up-market and “posh” but I find it anything but that – it is a real home away from home. Yes, it costs, but it is worth it! The only negative is when you have to leave the wonderful reassuring atmosphere and head out to battle your way through London (my advice: prolong the glow and take a cab!).

I cannot describe it but lunch or dinner here is as relaxing (and does you as much good) as going away for a long weekend to the best possible hotel. Wiltons is not just a meal; it is an experience . Long may it last.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SallyB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wiltons also viewed

 

Been to Wiltons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing