We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and service!”

The National Dining Rooms
Ranked #12,088 of 22,674 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Description: The National Dining Rooms offer stunning views over Trafalgar Square; the perfect place for an indulgent, unhurried lunch away from the crowds below. Our chefs use regional produce that represent the best of Britain’s independent, agricultural traders. Open daily (and until late on Fridays) for both formal lunches and casual snacks. Our cosy cafe area holds host to our famous National Afternoon Teas: a lavish spread of sandwiches, scones and cake, fine loose leaf teas and champagne. Surrounded world famous artworks, The National Dining Room is the ideal environment to enjoy a culinary masterpiece while discussing the galleries contents below.
Hove
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Food and service!”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We visited the Gallery which was amazing and had lunch at the national dining rooms, we had not booked in advance and eventhough it was very busy , they quickly found us a table, by the window. The service was brilliant, the staff members were very attentive, very friendly and just genuinly really nice. They bake their own bread, which is delicious. the food is delicious and the restaurant offers great value, location, food and service all top quality!
we will definately visit again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MonicaW_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob S, Manager at The National Dining Rooms, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback and we are glad to note that you had a great experience with us.

Please feel free to contact me directly should you wish to come again.

Best wishes
Rob Santos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    106
    95
    84
    61
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch in The National Dining Rooms”
Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Friend of mine had lunch last week, so I decided to try this restaurant. Hostess smile and friendly staff, fresh organic food and glass of wine made my day much better!
I know that restaurant is open on Friday evening, so would be nice to have a dinner and view to Trafalgar square.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mazoji11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob S, Manager at The National Dining Rooms, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback and we are glad to note that you had a great experience with us.

Please feel free to contact me directly should you wish to come again.

Best wishes
Rob Santos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Shocking”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Had to ask for Menu after being seated, 40 min wait for food, feed luke warm, vegetables, not even aldente, 4 of us, only 3 meals arrived, when 4th arrived came in 2 halves 5 mins apart, complained and promised special smoothie for us to compensate, even that didn't arrive. To their credit they did waive the bill. Worst dining experience ever.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CornwallLaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob S, Manager at The National Dining Rooms, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your valuable review and please accept my apologies for the delay in writing back to you and offer your our sincere apologies also for the lapse in service that occurred during your visit.

I can only reassure you that you will find this experience non-occurring.

Once again, thank you for your time.

Best wishes,
Rob Santos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Over priced.”
Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

I took my mother and niece for afternoon tea. The people are v nice but i was disappointed with the tea. Tea was served with no hot water - we had to ask. The sandwiches were nicely served but very ordinary. Each person had a large dry scone and three small cakes, only one of which was an interesting little morsel. The champagne was very good though. Overall disappointing and so not worth 72 pounds for three. There are many places up north that would give you a run for you money.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fantasticday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob S, Manager at The National Dining Rooms, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and please also accept my apologies for the very slow response.

We have certainly ensured that we have great value and can cater for all budgets when it comes to our visitors at the National Gallery.

we have a lovely main course to compliment our Vermeer exhibition in our that includes a main course with a glass of wine for £10 as well as our county menu from Norfolk which is a 2 course for £22.50 and a glass of very good Norfolk cider.

Once again thank you for your valued feedback.

Best wishes,
Rob Santos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

A terrific location, great ambience and very good service.
But..most of all, a wonderful menu cooked to perfection. This was my third visit and the menu was completely different on each occasion; the inventiveness and quality was consistent.
Absolutely great!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank agedtrundler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NDR5252, Manager at The National Dining Rooms, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Agedtrundler,

Thank you for your wonderful review on Tripadvisor. To get good feedback is always wonderful especially such a feedback from yourselves.

I will make sure I so it to all of the staff and our head chef. This means a lot to us and this will keep us going to improve even more.

Warmest regards,

Alain Luxembourg
Restaurant manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The National Dining Rooms also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to The National Dining Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing