We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Ledbury - Excellence on Notting Hill”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Ledbury

The Ledbury
Reserve with OpenTable
The Ledbury is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 22,367 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $58 - $77
Cuisines: French, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Notting Hill
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
934 reviews
472 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 435 helpful votes
“The Ledbury - Excellence on Notting Hill”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We were going be in London over Easter, for several meetings the next week, and were finding that many of our favorite restaurants were closed for the holiday. That turned out to be a very good thing, as I received several recommendations for The Ledbury. I had never heard of it before, but a bit of research indicated that it was just what we were looking for - and was that every correct!

Just a short cab ride from the Hilton London Park Lane, we arrived at a small, but lovely restaurant. From the moment that we entered, we knew that we were in the "right place." While the dining room is smallish, a mirrored wall gives the impression of a larger venue.

We initially had reservations for two, but one of our US board members was flying in a day early. The reservations staff was very helpful in accommodating her, even though it was Easter Sunday evening, and on fairly short notice. We were seated at a lovely 4-top, and the service began.

The wine list is not all that large, but the offerings have been well-thought out, and compliment the meals perfectly. Sommelier Anja Breit has done a wonderful job pairing the list for Chef Brett Graham's fare. After a Chave Hermitage Blanc, we opted for Breit's wine pairings, and were delighted. We also ordered the Tasting Menu, and our server (and the kitchen) knew that they would need to substitute the Scallop on my wife's dish. They handled this to perfection.

Every dish, and every wine was a joy. The presentations were on par with the wonderful food. The portions were perfect, and with the Cheese Course and the desserts (plus some Port), I do not think that any of us could have eaten another bite, however delightful that would have been.

My only sorrow is that I did not know of The Ledbury earlier, but am so glad that I followed those recommendations. They now have three followers and fans in the US, and we WILL dine there again. I have already sung the praises to another US board member, who missed this trip. Next time, it will be a party of 6!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill_Hunt_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,842
    303
    98
    23
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceptional food”
Reviewed May 10, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

My boyfriend and I booked a table for more than a month, but well worth the wait. We were greeted by the waitresses with small appetisers to start with. We both ordered the tasting menu, which I thought was a good choice, as we got to try out all the signature dishes on the menu. Food was excellent and the atmosphere was nice and classy. We would definitely go back again.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank chanrita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
112 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Food was good, but atmosphere is lacking”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

I have mixed feelings about our visit to Ledbury in late April. While the food was good and the service was effective, the "senior" waiter seemed annoyed with us during the meal, and it just made us feel unwelcome. We had a nice chat with the Canadian sommelier and he was lovely, and the eastern European woman serving us for half the meal was also really great. Anyway, we still had a good time, but our memories are not of the food, but of the snobby waiter. I won't complain about the 300 pound price tag for a meal for 2, because we knew that going in, but we've had better service at less fancy places. And the restaurant seemed lifeless and dull. I looked around the room and no one seemed to be enjoying themselves. I think the vibe of the staff is infectious.

The couple next to us had a funny experience. She found a bug in her first course. It was kind of funny to watch the snobby waiter run around all stressed out about the event. Oh, and then we got to hear him talk to the couple for a long time about football. Whatever, we won’t return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank kates70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Truly the one of the best in the world”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Due to the nature of our business we dine in some of the best rated restaurants all over the world.
The Ledbury was recently voted as one of the top ten in the world. From our recent meal there, we would vote it as arguably no 1 in the world. Our food was nothing short of sublime. I cannot do it justice in a short review, but there was not one false note, not a single waver from perfection in any dish. How chef Brett Graham achieves this superlative standard with such consistency would be a mystery had we not been lucky enough to be invited down to the kitchen. Here is a chef of such passion, such skill, such a master of flavour and with such impeccable choice of ingredients, that there is no longer any mystery! AND he is the most unassuming, charming and kind man who is clearly loved by his staff, despite the eyes in the back of his head as he supervises every detail of every plate. Truly a great Master of his profession. Finally the service is superb. Exactly the right note, friendly and fun, not pompous, no attempt to intimidate, but at the same time unobtrusive and very very professional. The sommelier was in particular excellent. Hugely knowledgeable but sharing and guiding and friendly.
What a privilege to have had such a marvellous experience. We will certainly be back when we can secure a table !!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank car w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
118 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Fun, relaxed lovely food”
Reviewed May 7, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Friday lunch and we went for the set lunch. Amuses bouche kept rolling in and every course was beautifully presented and had great flavours. Is it pushing the culinary envelope? Not really but who cares with food that good? Service was relaxed, engaging and the sommelier was extremely knowledgable recommending the perfect bottle of wine for our taste and budget. Will be back for dinner soon.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank jvgf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ledbury also viewed

 

Been to The Ledbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing