We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth every penny”
Review of The Ledbury

The Ledbury
Reserve with OpenTable
The Ledbury is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 22,557 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $58 - $78
Cuisines: French, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Notting Hill
Leeds
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Worth every penny”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Booking a table at this restaurant was a challenge and most definitely worth all the efforts. As it was a Friday night we had to take the tasting menu. Because our party of four had very different dietary requirements we believed that the kitchen would struggle to keep us all happy. How wrong we were. Each dish was a feast for the eyes and palette. Tastes, textures worked magic on the plate. Service was exceptional. I have never been to such a warm and friendly restaurant where you were made to feel so much at home. Expensive most definitely however a night out as good as this is a rare find.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fussyknickersLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,882
    305
    98
    24
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
90 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Tasting Menu for All Tastes”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

My friend and I spen a week in London and had lunch here. What. Treat! We both had the tasting menu with adjustments for no mammals, no shellfish and, for me, no banana. It was a 2 1/2 hour extravaganza to tickle the taste buds and look beautiful at the same time. Surprises and treats all along the way. When my friend asked if we might take a paper menu as a souvenir of our culinary journey, rather than bring us. Nenu they actually REPRINTED the menu to reflect exactly what each of
us ate (including substitutions). Gracious and hospitable. What a treat!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dgsaltman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very Special”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Went for a romantic meal with my wife and was not disappointed. Elegant and understated setting, friendly but not intrusive service and absolutely outstanding food. I had the set lunch and she ordered from the a la carte menu and every dish was perfectly cooked and stunningly presented. Interesting cuts of meat and subtle but unusual flavour combinations - roast scallops with liquorice was a wonderful starter. £35 for the three course set lunch but when you factor in a glass of wine plus tip you are looking at £50 per head minimum but it is well worth it for a special occasion. The Ledbury fully deserves it's reputation.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Von_Mistelroum_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
98 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great food in an interesting area of London”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We had the lunch set which was great value. Around 40pds for a 3 course meal.

Good service and well drilled staff as well.

The menu changes so check before you go.

It is located near the notting hill area so do go have a walkabout before your meal to explore the myriad of interested shops to be found there. :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Understated perfection.”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

First visit, for a special occasion. Welcoming staff, beautifully decorated dining room, very elegant yet discrete. Relaxed atmosphere - I was worried the service was going to be stuffy but it wasn't at all. In fact we even had a little giggle with our sommelier, which added to the experience. We had a glass of fizz while perusing the menu and the extensive wine list and decided to select from the à la carte: hand dived scallops ceviche and a surprisingly interesting green beans salad with almonds for starters, followed by the roe buck and the grouse for mains. Soufflé and a superb crème brûlée for desserts. All of it stunning and washed down with a truly excellent Catalan red. A little amuse bouche here and a "pre-dessert" there were lovely touches. The brioche is to die for. Everything arrived without any rush or delay. In short, all you would expect from a restaurant which is ranked 13th in the world - and has been awarded two Michelin stars. Dinner for two, with wine, champagne, and a post-dinner drink came to just under £300.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank xavitat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ledbury also viewed

 

Been to The Ledbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing