We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Meal - Fantastic”

The Grill at The Dorchester
Reserve a Table
Bookatable
Ranked #720 of 28,474 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Mayfair
Description: The Grill at The Dorchester offers grill classics in Mayfair, against the backdrop of this iconic hotel's timeless interiors. Warm and welcoming, this strikingly glamorous, treasure-trove of a room is one of London’s most longstanding British restaurants, first established in 1931. This October sees the restaurant relaunch under fresh young British talent Tom Booton. The re-imagined restaurant fuses The Dorchester's iconic elegance with a contemporary tone and creative details.
Reviewed May 19, 2019 via mobile

Another delightful meal at The Grill at the Dorchester. I have been coming here for over 30 years. The atmosphere and service is great.
Nice vegetarian menu also. 5*. Thank you to the team at The Grill for making it very special.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Worldtravelfootsteps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell-Platt-TDL, Director of Food and Beverage at The Grill at The Dorchester, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2019

Dear Worldtravelfootsteps,
Thank you for your wonderful review. I am thrilled to read your words of appreciation for The Grill and thank you also for your continued patronage. It is great to know that we were able to create lasting memories for you and your guests, especially on such a special occasion as a birthday celebration. Please be assured that I will share your feedback with the entire team who were delighted to have you dine with us and in the meantime, I do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to The Dorchester very soon.

Kindest regards,
Russell Platt
Director of Food and Beverage, The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (871)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 871 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2019 via mobile

Husband booked Sunday Lunch here as a surprise. Wow. Service impeccable and food was delicious and plentiful. Beautifully presented. Wine pairing worth having too. Outstanding. Thank you for making my 50th Birthday very special. Not forgetting my Birthday Card and cake I was given.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank 56dawnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell-Platt-TDL, Director of Food and Beverage at The Grill at The Dorchester, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2019

Dear 56dawnl,
Thank you for your wonderful review. It sounds like you truly enjoyed your visit and made the most of your dining experience with us which gives me great pleasure. Your kind words of appreciation in regards to the food offerings and the service have been shared with the whole team and it is great to read that you had a memorable birthday celebration. We truly hope to welcome you and your husband back to The Dorchester in the not too distant future.

Kindest regards,
Russell Platt
Director of Food and Beverage, The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2019 via mobile

We visited two weeks back, and what an experience,memorable and magical. I have been coming to the Dorchestor for years but this was my first time actually eating at the grill.

Food presentation amazing and tasted delicious. Restaurant itself has a beautiful ambiance. I had my 7month son with me and they accommodated every need down to making him a small plate of food so he felt he was eating with us.

Marchello the barman made us personalised mocktail as we didn’t fancy the signature ones, he never let our drink glasses empty all evening.

Ian our main server really went out his way to look after us. He tailored everything to our needs, his passion beams through.

Overall John and his team really looked after us and made it a special and magical evening.

I would definitely recommend the sticky toffee soufflé for dessert!

Cannot wait to return for sunday dinner!

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Sarahsa22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell-Platt-TDL, Director of Food and Beverage at The Grill at The Dorchester, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2019

Dear Sarahsa22,
Thank you for your wonderful review in regards to your recent experience at The Grill at The Dorchester. We are thrilled to read your words of appreciation for The Grill and it is truly a pleasure to receive such genuine and caring feedback of your whole experience. Guest satisfaction is of the upmost importance for us here at The Dorchester and it really seems like we were able to create lasting memories for you and your family which we are very proud of. Your complimentary feedback for Ian, John and Marcello is just delightful and please know that I have shared your comments with them and the rest of the team. On behalf of us all here at The Dorchester, we were delighted to have you dine with us and truly look forward to welcoming you and your family back as our guest in the not too distant future.

Kindest regards,
Russell Platt
Director of Food and Beverage, The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2019

Service was exceptional and staff were very on point. Our choice of dishes were all well cooked and of such good quality

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell-Platt-TDL, Director of Food & Beverage at The Grill at The Dorchester, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2019

Dear John W,

Thank you for your review. I am thrilled to know that you had a wonderful experience at The Grill at The Dorchester. This is exactly the type of experience we strive to create for each and every guest. Your kind words of appreciation have been shared with the entire team who were delighted to have you dine with us. I do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to The Dorchester in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2019 via mobile

Another great dining experience at the grill.
Set menu is excellent and all the courses are full size and are of the highest quality.
Wine list is extensive but not expensive.
Staff are friendly and knowledgeable. Would highly recommend for set menu or a la carte.

Will be back soon.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank dkwilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell-Platt-TDL, Director of Food & Beverage at The Grill at The Dorchester, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2019

Dear dkwilli,

This is the type of experience we strive to create for each and every guest, and it’s wonderful to know that you enjoyed every aspect of your visit. Your kind words of appreciation will be shared with the team who be delighted to know they were able to create such a special experience for you. Thank you again for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grill at The Dorchester also viewed

 

Been to The Grill at The Dorchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing