We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dissapointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Tamarind

Tamarind
Ranked #333 of 22,373 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $45 - $96
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Mayfair
Cross street: Curzon Street
Transit: Green Park
Description: Michelin-starred Tamarind presents an elegant take on Indian cuisine from its gilded dining room in chic Mayfair. The inventive menu is rooted in traditional Moghul cooking, with fish, meat and game dishes brought forth from the Tandoor oven in an authentic north-west Indian fashion. Muted tones and attentive service make the restaurant a smart yet convivial destination.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“dissapointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

Visited this posh Indian a little while back. Booked it for Hubby's birthday.

Food was OK, the crab was overbearing and not as delicious as it looked, had to call the waiter several times which was annoying and embarrassing for bottled water, was gasping by the time he turned up with it.

We were sat in a corner table and restaurant decor is average, but towards evening got loud, so the ambience and romantic feel went out of the window.

We got a lukewarm welcome, one would expect better than that from a mitchelin star restaurant, will not visit, and infact never did.

I do wonder sometimes how certain restaurants get their Michelin stars, Tamarind did make me wonder a lot.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank americandaddy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    587
    294
    164
    52
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
187 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Expensive and lacking the wow factor”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

The restaurant is comfortable and upmarket. The service is attentive. But they have the annoying practice of pushing the mineral water constantly on you, emptying the bottle into large glasses and continuously topping up and proposing a new bottle. On top of that they didn't adhere to my request to prevent me from over ordering, something I often do in Indian restaurants. The food was good, but on the whole too bland with too many sauces tasting like korma. And it was expensive at just under three hundred and fifty quid for four. For that money the cooking should have blown us away. It didn't.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Domirwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Posh Indian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Visited a few times now and would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone. We opted for the taster menu and all of the dishes were outstanding, the service is very attentive but not over powering, the venue is in a basement location which creates a very intimate atmosphere with subtle lighting & decoration

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Weller_Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
210 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“We weren't blown away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

We went to Tamarind for a birthday lunch. Its basement accommodation might seem discreet in the evening, but the absence of natural light wasn't what was wanted on a sunny spring afternoon.
Two of us had the tasting menu, which was good, but not spectacular. The third member of our party had to avoid dairy products and, whilst the kitchen was obliging and produced a dairy-free chicken curry, its taste didn't warrant the £19.95 charged for it.
The staff were pleasant and attentive, but there was only one other party dining, so they weren't stretched. There was an error on the bill and getting it corrected was more of a palaver than it should have been in a "posh" Mayfair restaurant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Normally one, if not the best, Indian restaurant in London”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

So this is a subsequent review to one of my favourite Indian restaurants in London. This and Amaya probably have the crown, although for standard dishes coupled with consistent excellence, I cannot fault Gaylord’s.

Normally the food is out of this world at Tamarind. However, at this business meeting for two, some of the food was, as usual, of its faultless excellent standard, but quite a few of the dishes disappointed and were not as good as I had previously experienced.

Service was exemplary. The bill was slightly more than I had anticipated over £400 for 2 with one bottle of wine.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nice_Nick_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamarind also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Tamarind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing