We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very poor service”
Review of Tamarind

Tamarind
Ranked #332 of 22,509 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $46 - $98
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Mayfair
Cross street: Curzon Street
Transit: Green Park
Description: Michelin-starred Tamarind presents an elegant take on Indian cuisine from its gilded dining room in chic Mayfair. The inventive menu is rooted in traditional Moghul cooking, with fish, meat and game dishes brought forth from the Tandoor oven in an authentic north-west Indian fashion. Muted tones and attentive service make the restaurant a smart yet convivial destination.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very poor service”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

The food was okay; better than most Indian restaurants but not as good as they claim. The service was awful. It was very difficult to get the waiters attention. On one occasion I had to walk over to the manager to ask for the bill. We had already waited 15 minutes. If this was an ordinary Indian restaurant like the thousands of others out there I would have said this was very good. But given their claims, the prices and the poor service, it fell well short of what was anticipated.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NickHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    603
    296
    168
    52
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Upscale Indian food”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have never had Indian food as good as this. It was really fresh, prepared and served in a lovely way. Everything was really good, not the usual mushy vegetables. I think it would appeal to anyone, even if they thought they did not like Indian. They have three types of nan and quite a few vegetarian dishes. My fish was unbelievable! The waiters were very attentive and the atmosphere beautiful. They got us our in time for our show too. I would highly recommend it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Valerie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerfield, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
231 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good Indian food.”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a lovely restaurant with excellent service and good gourmet Indian food. All the food was good, but not particularly "traditionally prepared", as compared with the Kashmir House in Paris which I review last week.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mcdjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent upscale Indian food”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We went to Tamarind to experience a Michelin star Indian restaurant. As expected the service was excellent. The food served was traditional Indian with a few twists. The food would appeal to anyone seeking to try out excellent Indian as it was lightly spiced and would appeal to all. I tend to like highly spiced, more exotic Indian but our friends loved it exactly as prepared. It would be an excellent first introduction to excellent Indian cooking.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaisyKeira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“As good as ever”
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Went with friends everything was lovely, just as good as it always is
Highly recommend it, fish dishes superb

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SarahJG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamarind also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Tamarind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing