We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value lunchtime tasting menu”
Review of Tamarind

Tamarind
Ranked #350 of 22,674 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $44 - $95
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Mayfair
Cross street: Curzon Street
Transit: Green Park
Description: Michelin-starred Tamarind presents an elegant take on Indian cuisine from its gilded dining room in chic Mayfair. The inventive menu is rooted in traditional Moghul cooking, with fish, meat and game dishes brought forth from the Tandoor oven in an authentic north-west Indian fashion. Muted tones and attentive service make the restaurant a smart yet convivial destination.
England
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good value lunchtime tasting menu”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Your standard Indian restaurant this is not. The lunchtime tasting menu was fantastic value at only £30. I've come to expect being left hungry after these types of menus, but I was very satisfied both in quality and quantity. The smoked pheasant salad was my favourite. Would definitely recommend for a business lunch.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank goingaway_1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    619
    303
    170
    53
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Lunch”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We went for lunch last Friday and after much deliberation, decided on the Winter Tasting Menu with wine - we were not disappointed! The starter was absolutely fantastic, just the right amount of food and so delicious! The main courses were all fantastic, especially the chicken and spinach, but if anything we had too much food for two people to get through! The wines were ok, not great, if I were to go back I would definitely choose a taster menu again, but get a separate wine which you can choose from the extensive menu. Puddings were a delight, three small tasters – the mango custard was divine!
I thought what we got was excellent value for money and all of the staff were very friendly and efficient. The bathrooms were also excellent – always a good sign! If people put effort into keeping the bathrooms immaculate they must put even more effort into the food and service!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravellersUtd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
211 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“DElicous although not special”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

The service was excellent, ambiance was a buzz, however this restaurant is down in a basement,and is just a big room, although it does have atmosphere with the dim lights.
I love Indian food, eat it regularly in New York and many other places. I felt that the food was really good, but nothing different to just ones ordinary run of the mill Indian restaurant. it is beautifully executed, cutlery and crockery sophisticated, excellent wait staff, but sorry to say whilst the food was good, it did not feel any different to ones local curry house. I also thought portions were really small. Apperisers were better than the main courses, infact were great but really tiny. Also very pricey which one expects and does not mind, but do not think it is a restaurant I personally would recommend.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sanmerle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Spice Heaven”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

What a lunch!! How can the chef make lamb chops taste so good. The Curries and Sauces were devine. The attentiion of the Staff was faultless and always with a smile on the face.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stuartlegassick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Explosion of flavors”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Great place to have very high quality Indian food., it also has a good wine list and sommelier to help you choose the perfect one to accompany the delicious flavours.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SabrinaVV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamarind also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Tamarind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing