We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Restaurant....!!!”
Review of Sushi Say - CLOSED

Sushi Say
Price range: $0 - $198
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic Restaurant....!!!”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Sushi say is a fantastic restaurant, 5th time here now for me and gets better everytime...the sushi is the best i have ever had... Noodles are a favourite of mine and never dissapoint...tempura vegetables...yellow tail fish and whole mackerel traditionally cooked is what makes this restaurant a must... Enduldged for 3hours with friends who have been customers for 10 years...!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KJT_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    24
    6
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best sushi bar in London”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I have visit many Sushi bar in London but I would say Sushi say is the best. I have already been Sushi say more than 10 times and always I enjoy the amazing fresh sushi there. The sushi chef is REAL Japanese sushi chef.
However the service is bit poor, especially you may feel bit uncomfortable if you understand Japanese.
The restaurant is really busy, you need to book in advance otherwise you will not get any table.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sayaka T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fresh Sushi!”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

This is one of my favourite Japanese restaurant of all time.
I absolutely love this place, this is a very traditional-Japnanese-style.Price is cheaper than other Japanese-Restaurant in London especially central-London. So I think Sushi say has a nice- balance for price and taste.
Following a warm welcome from the sushi chef, you're ushered into the long, simply adorned dining room. The waitress is happy to talk you through the menu, which offers plenty of variety including the usual tempura, teriyaki and noodle dishes: all done to a high standard.
Def recommend!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eliwinelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great sushi”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

My wife took me here for my birthday. We'll definitely be back. Great food and good service (no issues like some reviewers). Definitely a cut above what you usually get in London. It was very busy when we arrived (7pmish on a Sat night) and then emptied out before filling up again. Good mix of clientele: couples like us, families with children, larger parties and some Japanese people

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SkiMad93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Been here many times and always love it!”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

What can I say - we come here once a month and although we live locally, it's the type of restaurant we'd travel to.

The service is excellent and they have a large sake collection (and usually a few specials not on the menu). The sushi is excellent, very fresh and presented brilliantly.

As mentioned, you really need to book at weekends. It is very popular, we actually prefer to sit at the sushi bar and that's usually the last place that gets booked so say if you'd like to sit at the bar or tables.

Sashimi is excellent and the tempura is sensational. Yakitori is great too.

We've never had a bad meal here and must have been here 20 times.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank faceman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Say also viewed

London, England
London, England
 
London, England
London, England
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing