We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for pre-theatre supper” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofra - Covent Garden - CLOSED

Sofra - Covent Garden
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Covent Garden
Hindhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Perfect for pre-theatre supper”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

6 of us turned up at Sofra prior to a theatre outing. We arrived before 6.00pm so even without booking they managed to find a table for us upstairs in the very pretty conservatory setting (it filled up rapidly in the time we were there. I would advise booking). Not long after sitting down large baskets of beautiful warm Turkish bread and plates of houmous were placed on the table. After some discussion four of us decided on the £12 for 2 courses menu which was excellent value and offered a reasonable choice.. Our drinks order took rather a long time to fulfil but hey, everything else was very good indeed so we left well satisfied.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    137
    59
    36
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A pleasant experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

We were given a flyer in Covent Garden for their lunch menu at £5 per person. Great choice of food options given so we agreed to give it a go.

The food was lovely. Small portions which was just enough to give you that nice full feeling, rather than pile it high and scoff it down and forgetting what tasty food really is.

We all were pleasantly surprised and not really expecting much for £5 each but it was really nice food.

Definitely recommended.

Helpful?
Thank JulesB6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Never again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Food cold, table near door cold and asked to move, service poor and the bill was wrong twice. Four of us, and we would never go back again to this or any in their chain. One out of ten.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We will not rush back!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

We visited the Sofra for dinner after a fantastic time at the theatre, we had pre-booked the evening before to ensure we could get a table. Upon arrival we where shown upstairs to the roof garden where there was some confusion over which table to put us on followed. I did remind them that we had booked but this seemed to make little difference.

We decided on the healthy menu which seems to offer a good selection of starters and some tasty sounding main courses. We did attempt to ask the waiter for some guidance however I might has well closed my eyes and took a stab in the dark for all the help he was. Oh by the way the healthy menu just means smaller portions not healthier food.

Our starters arrived very quickly, which where tasty however lacked any substance, luckily a basket on bread was at hand to bulk up the sloppy starters.

The main course suddenly arrived before the starters had been cleared so they preceded to struggle to squeeze both mains and starters on our table, then they removed our starter plates and cutlery leaving us nothing to eat with, however these where soon replaced.

The food was very tasty, however we felt the service was very poor especially considering they automatically add a 12% service charge to the bill, meaning they don't have to work to provide good service, which was very evident.

To top our evening off we where asked to move tables to allow a larger party to be seated, we found this very rude especially considering we had booked in advance.

We will not be going back, sorry Sofra!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rickyrjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant atmosphere, decent food but service was a let down”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

Just returned from a group dinner. I have been to the excellent Ozer before which had now relocated so we thought to try here. Not the same experience however. Service was very slow and after numerous requests, about 40 min later we got some bread on the table...and after requesting again we got humous. As a pregnant lady I was ravenous by then! The food was pleasant although portions small. The best party was the pretty 'conservatory' setting and atmosphere. The sister restaurant Ozer well be sorely missed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank snazzapples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sofra - Covent Garden also viewed

London, England
London, England
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing