We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother”

Smiths of Smithfield
Ranked #1,106 of 22,808 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $104
Cuisines: Contemporary, British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Clerkenwell
Description: Smiths of Smithfield is a behemoth of a venue with four floors of a converted warehouse providing four distinct offerings. The Ground Floor Cafe is an open plan industrial space famous for top London breakfasts and the classic SOS burger. The First Floor Cocktail Bar and offers bespoke SOS and classic cocktails along with simple sharing plates and our 2 Private Dining Rooms. The 2nd Floor Dining Room with a focus on beef and meat reflecting smithfields meat market - located opposite, with an emphasis on provenance of the dishes and British food at its best. The Top Floor Restaurant and Terrace offers Rare Breed Meat cooked to perfection with stunning views across the city.
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Nothing special. Whilst the food was good the service was poor and the atmosphere I impressive. Save your money. Really not worth the trip into town and certainly not fine dining.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sambaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie M, Guest Relations Manager at Smiths of Smithfield, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Hello (Sambaha),

Thank you for getting in touch, if you could please tell us more about your visit we would like to see what areas can be improved for future visits. Please do get in touch via reservations@smithsofsmithfield.co.uk and we can review your experience.

Many thanks,
Natalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    356
    430
    184
    113
    74
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Engalnd
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Going down hill; fast”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

This was my second visit to the Top Floor at SOS. The food was great, especially the CHATEAUBRIAND, but at £83 for two it should be. The views are great, but the acoustics are poor and the restaurant becomes very noisy. There is a clinical feel to the space and a real lack of the promoted "luxury" or "relaxed & clam". But, what lets SOS down so badly is the service - no one smiles; they go though the motions, but nothing more. The maitre d' lacked any warmth or engagement; Bottom line, the kitchen does a decent job, but the ultimate experience is very poor, especially for the money.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie M, Guest Relations Manager at Smiths of Smithfield, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Hello (TravTravellers),

We're delighted that you enjoy the Chateaubriand on your visit to our Top Floor. Very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the 'feel' and 'atmosphere' of the space though, we have a new music system in place and so this should create some better acoustics.

We have spoken with our front of house team and all are aware of the high level of service that is expected of them. We can be confident that they are being trained accordingly and we will be vigilant to their front of house behaviour and we apologise that you didn't feel any warmth from the service.

We sincerely hope that you do pay us a visit again in the future and we can rectify your faith in what we have to offer at Smiths.

Many thanks,
Natalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koh Tao, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Expected more, you pay for the name more than quality of food”
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Don't mistake this for a high Class restaurant, it is no more than a better classed cafe. Until we complained and asked for the manager we were told that the first three wines we asked for were not on the menu? The food and menu was pretty average and highly over priced. You are paying for the name of John ToRhodes. More than the quality of the food. We went for my husbands birthday and was quite disappointed

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Big, busy & loud”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

The bustle, the location, the food - all brilliant. Need to book in advance but three restaurants to chose from - ground floor is relaxed with bar menu (check out the fishfinger sandwich), second floor is for steaks (very good steaks as well) and top floor is proper dining with a view. Would recommend all three, although top floor is a little special.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank KH09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Chips as an extra?!”
Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Had dinner here with friends last week in the top floor restaurant.
Very nice and comfortable setting. The waiting staff were friendly and attentive if not a bit too much, are they on commission to encourage you to order as many extras and drinks as possible?
I had the Smiths burger which was delicious but seriously having the chips as an extra at over £3 for a fairly small portion is a bit ridiculous when the burger costs £14.
I had the Black Forest Sundae for desert again I felt this was overpriced at £7 and didn't even have whipped cream on top which all sundaes usually have.
Overall this is a nice place to eat if a little on the pricey side.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kevinse16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smiths of Smithfield also viewed

 

Been to Smiths of Smithfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing