We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little gem in West London!”
Review of The River Cafe

The River Cafe
Ranked #932 of 22,557 Restaurants in London
Price range: $26 - $65
Cuisines: Italian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A little gem in West London!”
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We arrived early and had champagne cocktails at the bar - I had a classic and my friend had a special which was pomegranate based. Both were nice but the classic was amazing. We sat for our meal on time and despite it being late afternoon it was buzzing! A great mix of people - young and old. Chicken liver pâté was great as was the lobster / seafood starter. The main was fab - can fish get any better?! I finished with creme brûlée and we were given a sample of burnt caramel ice cream - weird flavour but strangely enjoyable. Will definitely go back there but at £100 per head for 3 courses and drinks, will need to save up first!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MNG1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    530
    271
    194
    90
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What's not to like?, but bring £££”
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

A sophisticated ambiance, handsome open kitchen, clean contemporary decor, modern wood fired oven, very good food. The only drawbacks are the price and the fact that you need Magellan to help navigate the back streets to fond it.

Helpful?
Thank michaelmullally
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“my birthday treat!”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Food was absolutely amazing, So good, I had seconds! ( two vegetarians dining).
Setting was lovely too.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank MacTuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“expensive, but worth it”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Perfect ingredients expertly prepared and served with friendly efficiency; quality of food clearly top notch: complete absence of cheffy shenanigans is a blessed relief, allowing freshness and flavour to shine - generous portions too. Interesting wine list, exclusively Italian as far as I recall, with standard markup. Buzzy atmosphere but a bit hard to find when arriving on foot!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nissabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester England
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Superb restaurant”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I just turned up at the River Cafe on Sunday without a reservation. The restaurant was packed, and we were told that unless we had a reservation we would only be able to eat at the bar - about to leave the Manager appeared and immediately gave us a table if we could vacate within 2 hours which was fine.
We had a wonderful lunch, the food was very well presented, the menu being quite different,and the service was excellent all the way through, obviously it is rather pricey, but you certainly get what you pay for!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The River Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The River Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing