We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful food, elegant flavours”

Vineet Bhatia London
Ranked #1,001 of 22,659 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $133 - $133
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Chelsea
Description: A new beginning. Vineet Bhatia London (VBL), the new flagship restaurant from Vineet Bhatia, heralds a new beginning for the award-winning chef and restaurateur. Set within a lovingly-restored Georgian townhouse, Vineet Bhatia London (VBL) opened this month in what was formerly the chef’s long-established restaurant Rasoi at 10 Lincoln Street, just moments from the Sloane Square end of London’s King’s Road. Reimagined and redesigned, VBL’s Indian inspired cuisine and the restaurant’s personal interiors reflect the chef’s 23 year journey from his birthplace of Mumbai to Chelsea and the vision that he and his wife Rashima set out to accomplish more than 20 years ago. Offering a menu of between five and six courses, proceeded by a selection of delicate canapés and ending in a flourish of desserts; in a single evening guests will experience a culinary exploration of Vineet Bhatia’s life in food. Marrying east and west, his dishes are an accumulation of three decades spent pushing the possibilities and challenging the perception of his native cuisine, and display his continuous devotion to creating something new. VBL’s decadent Chelsea townhouse has been designed with a colour palate of calming light greys. Interspersed with splashes of yellow and ornate tiles throughout, the contemporary and elegant interior highlights the striking original features of the 100year-old building. The main dining area - which seats 32 - is split between two rooms, so is intimate and relaxed. The restaurant’s personal touches are reinforced by the doorbell, which guests must simply ring on arrival to be welcomed into what feels like a private members club - a home. Further privacy can be found in the restaurant’s two exclusive private dining rooms on the first floor; Lutyens which seats 12 guests and Wittet which seats 8.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful food, elegant flavours”
Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

A must visit! This place is a fantastic example of how Indian food can be fine dining. Service flawless. Mouthwatering menu that translates into every bite

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank grizzlybear99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    58
    26
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
63 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Upscale, inventive Indian cuisine”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

My wife, 15 year old daughter, and I were only in London for three days, wanted a great Indian meal before we left but did not have time to explore the many East End choices. So on the last day we decided Rasoi was our place. It was overall excellent and very satisfying. My wife was until very recently a professional restaurant critic for a well known TV/print/digital media conglomerate for many years. She's very fair, honest, and totally gets how demanding the food business is but she's also hard to please and reviews everything about a place---food, service, decor, ambiance, and attitude.That said, I know she loved the food here. People at nearby tables were having a great time---the two italian couples next to us, the two tables of young Londoners behind us--and that helped to relax us. Clearly Rasoi has it's fans. I think we're one of those now. We ordered the trio of breads which were possibly my favorites breads among any Indian restaurant I've visited. Sooo good. We have the lamb biryani and the two course prix fixe. The service was not as loose and friendly as we prefer and they did get our order wrong (it was our fault, we concluded) but they were very competent and polite. We arrived very late, maybe 10:30PM, so we were very happy to be served. Don't be put off my the entry: you ring a bell, they open the door and invite you in. The guy who greeted us was not warm at all, it was a little uncomfortable in the beginning. But once we settled in everything fell into place. Just be prepared for this peculiar practice and you'll be fine. Overall a very pleasant surprise and scrumptious nouveau Indian cuisine at a reasonable price for the quality and experience. Our bill was $188 for three people and only one glass of wine, which might shock those who are not used to an upscale Indian restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dfoote13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good but not for "traditional curry"”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Presentation and service faultless. It was and certainly felt like having dinner in an extremely posh Chelsea town house. Formal but at same time somewhat relaxed atmosphere. Whilst refined and sophisticated, this is not for someone wanting a traditional Indian meal. Expensive, but then again this is Chelsea.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silicon Valley
Level Contributor
87 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Unique dining experience”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Not your traditional Indian dinner -- definitely a dining experience. The price will, however, knock your socks off so definitely save this for a special occasion.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank LuxNomadTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian Fine Dining”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our Vegetarian tasting menu, wonderful experience with delicately spiced food elegantly presented. Excellent service. Knowledgable about the food and wine list. A real mix of clientele, couples (old and young) and families.

Our only gripes would be £6.20 (nearly £7 including service charge) for a 660ml bottle of water. It's a pet hate I confess. More significantly we discovered that the vegetarian desert contained gelatine - oopps - a pork product on a vegetarian menu! The staff where very open when asked (they checked with the kitchen) and substituted an alternative dish (which was even nicer, I am not vegetarian so I ate the original). Total bill was £250 for 2 with a mid price-range wine.

We will definitely go back

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vineet Bhatia London also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Vineet Bhatia London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing