We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“(Mostly) good food for eye-watering prices”

Vineet Bhatia London
Ranked #1,351 of 22,516 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $137 - $137
Cuisines: Indian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Chelsea
Description: A new beginning. Vineet Bhatia London (VBL), the new flagship restaurant from Vineet Bhatia, heralds a new beginning for the award-winning chef and restaurateur. Set within a lovingly-restored Georgian townhouse, Vineet Bhatia London (VBL) opened this month in what was formerly the chef’s long-established restaurant Rasoi at 10 Lincoln Street, just moments from the Sloane Square end of London’s King’s Road. Reimagined and redesigned, VBL’s Indian inspired cuisine and the restaurant’s personal interiors reflect the chef’s 23 year journey from his birthplace of Mumbai to Chelsea and the vision that he and his wife Rashima set out to accomplish more than 20 years ago. Offering a menu of between five and six courses, proceeded by a selection of delicate canapés and ending in a flourish of desserts; in a single evening guests will experience a culinary exploration of Vineet Bhatia’s life in food. Marrying east and west, his dishes are an accumulation of three decades spent pushing the possibilities and challenging the perception of his native cuisine, and display his continuous devotion to creating something new. VBL’s decadent Chelsea townhouse has been designed with a colour palate of calming light greys. Interspersed with splashes of yellow and ornate tiles throughout, the contemporary and elegant interior highlights the striking original features of the 100year-old building. The main dining area - which seats 32 - is split between two rooms, so is intimate and relaxed. The restaurant’s personal touches are reinforced by the doorbell, which guests must simply ring on arrival to be welcomed into what feels like a private members club - a home. Further privacy can be found in the restaurant’s two exclusive private dining rooms on the first floor; Lutyens which seats 12 guests and Wittet which seats 8.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“(Mostly) good food for eye-watering prices”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Reviews are ultimately there to help people decide if they should eat somewhere or not. So lets start with that. If money is no object and you regularly eat at top restaurants then go for it. Rasoi is very different from both your traditional indian and any other haute cuisine. If you are going somewhere as a once in a while treat then there are better places in this price bracket. The three stars here represent a restaurant that wasn't the best in its price bracket (Five Fields is practically next door and is in a different league) but certainly isn't the worst either (Aqua Shard).

So what did 750 pounds for 5 people (just drinking cobra beer no wine) get you?

A mostly good tasting menu of 7 course. The lamb was great, dessert was beautiful; but there were some mistakes as well. Rose petal sorbet with rose marmalade and champagne just didn't work.;the Crab lolly was overworked so it didn't taste of anything.

The service was fine, they made an effort to explain the dishes and were helpful. My litmus test of good service though was a definite fail - did I feel I could have a conversation with them? Definitely not- they were far too rigid and formulaic.

Don't take it as all bad- bits of the food were great, the town house was very sweet and I had a very nice evening (though to be honest with pleasant company that generally takes care of itself). Just for that amount of money I would expect to be something special. Not something close to it in parts with some obvious mistakes.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank ruarih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    57
    26
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
86 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful, unusual fusion food”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Probably one of my all-time favourite dining experiences ! You'll enjoy it even if you know authentic Indian food very well. Unusual recipes with subtle flavours. Nice ambience too, quiet and cosy. Was strangely empty when I visited (probably because too early in the evening).

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tanyasen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Indian Fine Dining in London”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Rasoi is a wonderful converted Chelsea townhouse maintaining the integrity of the original house. The food is top quality Indian Fine Dining with knowledgeable staff to guide you with your choice. I have tried virtually everything on the menu and can say I have never been served anything less than excellent. The atmosphere is hushed and retrained. The service friendly and competent. And the food speaks for itself.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cindy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Indian cuisine redefined !!!”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Visited this place for my birthday dinner with wife and it turned out to be one of the best dinner dates we have gone on till date. From the moment we made reservations to the time we were received and seated, we did not realise that we were about to witness a titillating food-porn show [ pun intended :) ], one that would leave an indelible impact and make it the best birthday dinner ever !!! A seven course prestige menu (vegetarian for my wife and non-vegetarian for me) lasted for almost 3 hours as the chef produced masterpieces after masterpieces. The only blot on the overall experience was the lamb rack, which took considerable effort to cut through. But the rest of the dishes, more than made up for it. The service/presentation was impeccable and a surprise birthday dessert with message/candle was the grand finale to my birthday.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rohit-Bhardwaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
579 reviews
490 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 460 helpful votes
“Very good indian restaurant”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This restaurant is located in a mansion et we had to ring at the door to be welcomed by a very nice staff. The restaurant rooms are intimate and well decorated. We have been eating hundred of times in Indian restaurants and we regularly go to India every other year and we believe that this one is worth the visit. We didn't choose the menu at £ 89, ++ as it looked too much for us to eat, we just wanted a starter, a main course and a desert, with a very good wine Everything we ordered was well prepared and well presented. The service is good. The only comment I would make is that even if we personally usually don't care really about prices, we found the prices a little too high when you include the service etc..We usually go to the Amaya restaurant Motcomb street, that we love.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jmLondon845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vineet Bhatia London also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Vineet Bhatia London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing