We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful Kerala food”
Review of Rasa W1

Rasa W1
Reserve with OpenTable
Rasa W1 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,961 of 22,674 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Mayfair
Description: If the words 'vegeterian' and 'banquet' have never appeared in one sentence for you, then you haven't yet tried Rasa W1. The menu features only authentic cuisine from Kerala on India's spice-rich Malabar Coast, served on a huge, fresh banana leaf. If you have the adventurous spirit, try the Kerala Feast, an exquisite mix of flavours and textures from across the menu - the chefs are happy to include any dishes that you fancy. A favourite from the a la carte menu is moru kachiathu, sweet mangos and green bananas cooked in yoghurt with green chillies, ginger, and fresh curry leaves. The pickles and chutneys alone are almost worth the trip. Shortish, wide-ranging wine list. Plush surroundings and welcoming service add to the pleasures of the meal.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful Kerala food”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

I have been to this Rasa restaurant numerous times over the last 8 or so years. It has never, ever failed to disappoint. I have never come across Indian food so good outside of India. The ambience is cosy, the service reasonably attentive (sometimes a bit slow but hey why rush this?) but it is such heavenly food I would eat there more if I could. I have taken so many of my friends there and they are always equally amazed. I confess I find it hard to resist their beetroot curry - it is truly wonderful - and their cabbage side dish is great.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geodruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    91
    31
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Big Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
134 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Quality food, excellent service”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We were a group of seven. A couple had never had Indian food, others were devoted lovers of this cuisine. Rasa served both equally well. Our server was very patient in explaining what things were, what the spice level was like, etc. All of us came away impressed. The newbies enjoyed their first taste of Indian food without being blown away by heat and those of us who had experienced this kind of food before thought it of high quality. This is south Indian style btw. Not the most fancy in terms of the building but well worth the visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank montebr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good south indian food”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Good ambience. The staff are friendly.. I really enjoyed the kerala parota and chicken curry.. authentic south indian taste.. only problem.. i went past it a few times missing it..

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mankiran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delicious every time”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

This is one of my very favourite Indian restaurants, the food is delicious and consistent. The vegetarian options are amazing. And the curries are not oil/ butter heavy which is great. The cabbage with coconut, yum! Beetroot a must try as another side dish. Lamb with coconut also lovely. Making myself hungry now!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fejoia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Authentic and so beautifully Indian”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

This one is for the real foodie who can appreciate the mutli flavours of India and oodles of authenticity. Unlike most so called Tandoori, Tikka and what no rubbish Indian trash that you find in London, this one is a real fine dine with fantastic food and even more lovely man behind the whole magic! Treat yourself to some exotic south indian cuisine and if you are lucky you just might even be lucky to have the owner Das Sreedharan join you and amuse you with stories on how he wants to make the world a better place with food !

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank KavitaBagga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rasa W1 also viewed

 

Been to Rasa W1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing